Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Path of Supernova

by NuSan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Goal : Bring the power to the constellation using the Supernova.
Supernova can connect to anything nearby and give it the power of motion.
To achieve the Path of the Supernova, you have to form a closed circuit, setting light to everything.

The Supernova, and every powered sector of the path, can move along 3 directions.
They will push and pull connected sectors in this direction.

Very often, moving only the Supernova is enough to complete the path.
Otherwise, moving powered sector can be usefull.

You can play through 16 levels or try random levels of 4 difficulty (Unknow is insane)

Control : mouse drag

Engine : Unity
Graph : Paint.net
Sound : SunVox

PostCompo & Android version :
Slight change of rule : only the supernova can be moved around
Progression (last level unlocked) is now saved
Random levels Hard & Unknown better balanced
Last level completely remade (less difficult)
Better UI

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#113Innovation3.85
#213Audio3.32
#256Overall3.52
#390Fun3.23
#440Mood3.13
#615Graphics3.00
#696Theme3.06
#776Humor2.00

Comments

JosephLittle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:31am

Nice! It was pretty confusing for me though :P

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:01am

The instructions are kinda unclear and the the game gets insanely hard I tried a random set up of unknown difficulty and got 20 some tiled scattered around. I couldn't solve it, and I tried for 15 minutes. The game is interesting but the 3 direction of movement limitation can get really aggravating if there are a lot of tiles.

Yanthir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:03am

I'm loving the idea. Had great fun playing the game.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:09am

Can't play in Chrome, but it's working in IE.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32am

Great idea! This has a lot of potential

Clyde says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:35am

Neat! A nice spin on the tile connecting puzzle game.

Nsmurf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:46am

Quite hard, but I like it! More clear instruction would be good, and maybe a tutorial level?

Ramperkash says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51am

Great idea, but the controls are a bit frustrating as it is very easy to move things around unintentionally.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:10am

Got to level 5 before pulling the hair out, that's a really challenging puzzle!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11am

Couldn't figure out level three after I had light it all up but thought it was an interesting concept.
Music worked well with the visuals.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42am

I like the idea and very good work , hope you can finish it , it will make nice game and you can make use of the new unity UI :D .
Still good work (y) .

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:34am

Hey there. Always like a Hex Puzzle... ! Enjoyed working out first few levels, level 3 had a nice 'oh yeah' moment. Hexes ftw! - so much more fun than square-based gridness.

d__adee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04am

Clever puzzle! I had fun playing it. :)

Kuupu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49am

Awesome puzzle, you did a great job with it's design. The rules are so simple, while the complexity just keeps growing from one level to another. You could go on endlessly generating new levels.
Great game, congratz.

Aglavra says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02am

Nice graphics and music, but the rules of movement are a bit confusing, especially if there are many tiles.

ljdp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:20am

I thought the rules were understandable, I just found it too frustrating to be fun. Great effort thought, nice wobbly music too.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Cool puzzle game. Love the music!

Nanocentury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Great concept, but I found using the nova to push the other tiles around was quite an awkward mechanic.

sthreet says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:39pm

I didn't read the tutorial, but that was really fun.

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Awesome game. A great idea that had me hooked and the random puzzles make it so replayable. Nice audio and graphics tied it all up

Candlite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Took a while to understand the constraints of moving pieces but after I understood that I really enjoyed it. Nice game!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17pm

realy nice game the best function is that you can create your own levels to a nearly unpossible difficulty.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Nice puzzler game. It really challenges the mind. The animation for moving pieces was a bit fuzzy but otherwise, good job!

Asbrion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Nicely done!!!

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Quite nice puzzle game, although it was quite hard for me to move more than supernova tile at once.

I'd like to see more levels!

shimage says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02pm

It seems very innovative for me. Fun and good difficulty. Nice work!

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:55pm

It's a cool concept, just needs some work. The level generation could use some work, or maybe just set them up by hand would be better.
Otherwise, the visuals were nice

siat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37am

I didn't understand why it was grabbing or not grabbing other hexes. Nice art, though.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Challenging puzzle game. My brain hurts. Mobile version reccomended! Please do make one! :)

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:20pm

My Brain hurts !!! ah it's a good game ! Maybe a chrono and score are missing with a leaderboard !

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Wow ! Truly innovative puzzle game :o ! You did a great job, congratulations ! The music was also really nice.

Managore says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Super innovative and challenging! I am thoroughly impressed by this game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]