Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

World Bash

by DaGamesta - Jam Entry

Destroy as many asteroids as you can by swinging planets (and pluto) around! How long can you protect Earth? And, more importantly, how high of a score can you get?

Touch and drag to move the earth around. Try to destroy as many asteroids as possible to get a highscore. Compatible with Android-based devices.

Programming by Michael Wojnar. Design and pixel art by Tony Wojnar. Music and sound by Fisher Moses.

We are currently debating whether we will post the game on the Play Store, since it would cost us $25 to do so. In the meantime, we have it uploaded to dropbox. If you have the proper security settings on your Android phone/tablet, you should be able to simply click the download link and automatically install the app on your device.

Due to the massive difference in an engine that would work on iPhone as well as Android, a port of this game on such an engine may not even be quite the same game, so we will not be putting the game on iPhone for now. Look forward to a multi-platform phone/tablet game next year though!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#29Theme(Jam)4.03
#53Fun(Jam)3.76
#114Humor(Jam)3.27
#195Mood(Jam)3.46
#201Audio(Jam)3.44
#223Innovation(Jam)3.34
#235Overall(Jam)3.42
#419Graphics(Jam)3.30

Comments

Tritax says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:46am

Any chance you could post footage of gameplay for people that cannot run this game? I wouldn't mind seeing it in action - I feel like I could at least offer suggstions/votes then.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:50am

Okay, we'll see what we can do about that.

someone9999 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:07am

Cool game! (Pluto is tiny though, impossible to hit anything with XD). Neat concept, and bashing asteroids with jupiter is quite fun. Nice job!

Docjekyll says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:16am

Simple, fun game. I was able to get to see 3 different types of projectiles. The way you approached the theme made me literally "lol" when I realized it. :-D

-----
Technical note!!!
If you are on a Windows machine, you can (and should) download BlueStacks so you can play this game on your computer.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:36am

Well done, worked great on my Nexus 7 (2012).
Playing it I first expected the other planets to have more momentum of their own, but I got the handling fairly soon. :)

CoopNasty says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59am

Interesting concept. Loved the graphics and sound effects. Though that it could've used more work in the physics department, like using momentum to change how you swung the other planet.

Also, if you bash into an asteroid with the earth, it still gives you five hundred points even though you didn't hit it with the other planet.

madmaw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:34am

Nice little Android game. Good work

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:35pm

@someone9999 Haha yeah, Pluto was meant to be hard mode basically.

@Docjekyll Then I guess you missed the last type of projectile. ;)

@LeafThief @CoopNasty Yes, we wanted to add more realistic momentum, but sadly we ran out of time and left it as is. As for the earth, if you're willing to sacrifice 1/4 of your HP for the points, then why shouldn't we give you the points? :P

@madmaw Thank you. ^_^

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:55am

I played this on my Samsung Tab2 and it works great. Really fun to play and I really love the premise. Literal Connected Worlds wrecking up the galaxy! This is something I will probably continue to play for fun in the future so thanks for that!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:06am

Absolutely brilliant.
~funkeh

timtipgames says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:46am

I was a little dissapointed when I started to play with the biggest planet as I expected more dynamics in the planets connection. That changed once I tried the smaller planets and trying them made me play for quiet a while. Would have liked some more asteroid types and/or power ups. Overall a nice game. Well done!

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:21am

Can't test, no android phone

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:31am

Great game! I love the artwork here

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Funny game. Although I don't know why anyone would choose a planet other than Jupiter for biggest shield.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Oh, I have not any android device =(

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Now that school is starting I will play this game during boring lessons.

ramoncb says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Simple but very very addictive! Good job!

I don't have a Android device, I played with an emulator ( called Andy xD )

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:17am

It was pretty fun to play. I liked mars the best. I felt that it was a good fit for mobile. Also, getting a play store account is worth it, google has done a good job putting out a professional tool. Being in a group though, you might want to consider putting it up on one person's account, or making a group one.

Xentira says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:52am

Really well done! I do like how each of the planets moved differently and the overall look of the game was great.

OxyOxspring says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Really fun! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]