Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Honko's Worlds

by FrankieSmileShow - Jam Entry

Honko is lost in the forest of some mysterious alien world. Help Honko find his home planet.

Arrow keys to move
C to shoot
X to open locked doors
D to quaff a potion
S to switch weapons (Once you found a new one)

A game by FrankieSmileShow
with music by cBoyardee
Special thanks to Honko

Note: The game has a small resolution, but you should be able to resize the window or set it to full screen!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#66Audio(Jam)3.84
#92Graphics(Jam)4.19
#121Overall(Jam)3.65
#122Fun(Jam)3.55
#183Mood(Jam)3.48
#360Humor(Jam)2.47
#679Innovation(Jam)2.34
#681Theme(Jam)2.21
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50am

Really great piece! I love the rpg feel, graphics and audio blend really well. However the game suffers from having no checkpoints. Definitely one of the better submissions.

Stepwise says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50am

Great art, I loved it and it made me think of the good old SEGA days. :) Game was a bit tough, and I felt like the moment-to-moment gameplay could use a bit of tuning. But, the overall look and feel were great. Port it to a wider screen so I can look at them pixels!!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50am

Really great piece! I love the rpg feel, graphics and audio blend really well. However the game suffers from having no checkpoints. Definitely one of the better submissions.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57am

Impressive work, don't know how you achieve so much work in 72h, congrat! Especially about overall realization. I regret the lack of auto-fire considering the constant need to smash fire button. At first I thought enemies wasn't a danger at all, then I met the big guard in the first dungeon... I'm not sure about the theme related aspect beside room by room exploration. Anyway great job.

varun says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:33am

Enjoyed the pixel art and enemy design! Kinda wished I had the ability to shoot in directions other than my movement.

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:31am

Cute game! The music was catchy. Would have been nice to increase the pixel size a bit, it's so small!

Jaloko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:34am

Awesome pixel art!

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39am

good fun! great art and music, not so connected with the theme

EMAK says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:36am

great entry! love the atari lynx feeling!

PriorBlue says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Very good pixelart style, but it's very frustrating to begin from start, when you die (like in the good old times :)).

saint11 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Lovely pixel art! I really like how oldschool this game feels. Good Job!

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Wonderful art and music work, though I agree that there should be some checkpointing, it's a long and at times tedious adventure. There are a lot of beefy enemies that aren't that dangerous but take a lot of hits, and those can be a pain to encounter too many times (the trees were the worst offenders). Otherwise, a nice experience!

rooter4 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:16am

Great game, one of my favorites during this ludum dare. The only criticism I have is while the music is fantastic, it doesn't fit the game very well.

Praron says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:50am

Good level-design, nice graphic, really great game! But i can't see "Connected worlds" theme :\

Dry Tree says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:23am

Really great game and very nice graphics. I'd like to be able to stand still while looking on a diagonal more easily (it usually detects which key I released a few milliseconds later and aligns me to that axis). Checkpoints would be useful - or maybe passwords to continue with the old-school feel :)

jahmaican says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:49am

Nice! I'd be really impressed if this was a compo entry, in jam terms - not so much, but still I had a good time playing, and the art style is great!

Benjamin says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:45am

This game is incredible. You guys rock. I spent so much time on your game and even more checking your other works.
Everyone who check thsi game should have a look at the timelapse, very interesting. I love the way you use gale for leveldesign.

The game itself is pretty cool, I think I would have prefer some sword action for the basic attack, and some monters perspective made their 90 or 180 rotation a bit strange ( especially treefolk ). Infact those kind of monsters could easily move always facing camera, instead of being rotated.

Thid game should get more rating, someone should post about it. Maybe I'll do :D

Rehacked says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Good game but i didnt get theme in it. anyway goodjob

jellonator says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Tried to run it, got something about a corrupted cabinet file.
Note that I am running this under WINE, so that is likely the issue.

Erkberg says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Really great game, quite a lot of content for a jam. The music and art is awesome. Good job!

Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Such a fun little game full of plenty of content. Spent way more time then I'd expected playing this. Impressed with all the enemy designs you got in and was constantly surprised to find more as I kept going. Think this deserves more comments.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:19am

Fun game but it's a bit long without checkpoints.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]