Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Boulder Hero

by StMatn - Jam Entry

Boulder Hero is a mix between bowling and a rpg. Unfortunately it's just a prototype. (So many features dropped...) Please read the instructions, since the game has no tutorial.

Remember to extract the zip! Launchin the .jar inside the .zip may not work.
A Java Runtime Environment is required to run the game.

INSTRUCTIONS:
When you launch the game you are straight inside the endless mode. When the camera focusses your hero at the bottom of the map, choose a boulder size with the buttons at the bottom of the screen (-> screenshot 2).
Now you will be in launching mode. Drag the small boulder at the top to choose the starting position. Drag the big boulder to spin it. You will "rub" it, so you may want to drag multiple times. Keep mouse still, while hoding down LMB to slow it down. IMPORTANT: Vertical speed will be vertical speed, but horizontal speed will be "spin". "Spin" will be converted to horizontal speed, resulting in a curved path. Click "Launch" at the bottom right corner, if you are happy with the boulder movements (-> screenshot 3).
Now sling those boulders and smite those skeletons!

Levels will get harder over time, since more skeletons wil spawn and bad enemy shots will get less likely. After winning or loosing the game displays the current "Danger-Level" (=Score). Post your best!


Thank you very much for playing! :)


FOR THE CURIOUS:
Unfortunately I didn't have enough time to include the story, so here it is:
The evil lord of the underworld has connected the underworld with the overworld with portals. He sends his minions through this portals to conquer the overworld. Your job is (well...should have been...) to close the portals and save the overworld.
A worldmap was planned, where your party should wander the land in search of portals, that need to be closed and fight evil creatures in the meantime. Unfortunately I did only manage to finish the fightsystem. I hope you will have some fun nevertheless :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#151Innovation(Jam)3.50
#303Humor(Jam)2.59
#480Fun(Jam)2.86
#583Audio(Jam)2.24
#626Mood(Jam)2.59
#641Graphics(Jam)2.68
#646Overall(Jam)2.79
#687Theme(Jam)2.19
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Nice game!

Boberro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:57pm

I hope you wouldn't mind if I cloned your game to mobiles (with some achievements, rpg elements and in app purchases) and become filthy rich :D

Shivur says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:03am

Very original!

tmpxyz says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:59am

good idea, but what about the theme?

StMatn says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Thx for commenting :) Thats very cheering.

@Boberro: To be honest, my first idea was to directly have this on mobile, since touch-controls would be way better than mouse. You know... I also believe that ideas are worthless and execution is everythons, so ripping the idea would be... I would have to accept it :D Let me know if you do so, since I made this, because I wanted to play that game ;)

@tmpxyz: I know, the description is annoyingly long. I hate to read walls-of-text myself, so I give you the short version: the theme didn't make it into the game, because I had not enough time for an intro. The basic idea behind the story would be, that the underworld has been connected to the overworld. Your task is to defend the overworld.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:37am

Cool game, but was very laggy for me for some reason.. not sure why.

kristof says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Nice idea, but it was either too difficult or I didn't really understand how to play. Maybe start with a level, where the enemy is right in front of you?
But still, good work!

Rehacked says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:36pm

hey StMatn ive left you a comment on my games page thanks for feedback

Rehacked says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:07pm

thanks for your comments :) wish you good result on final rating!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]