Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Yggdrasil

by rex64 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Movements: [LEFT] and [RIGHT]
Jump: [X] or [SPACEBAR] (you can press jump in midair to perform a double jump)

Lemme now if everything works correctly!
Any suggestions are more than welcome!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#444Theme3.40
#471Humor2.46
#504Fun3.10
#751Overall3.00
#784Innovation2.85
#836Audio2.15
#922Graphics2.50
#974Mood2.44

Comments

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35am

I was impressed when I hit the first set of bricks allowing me to change the progress of each squirrel. Very nice mechanics.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07am

nice game :)

Artamus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:10am

Nice game! Congrats.

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:10am

Good game, challenging puzzles, the sound though was getting boring after a few minutes.

OadT says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:11am

Nice game! Makes fun, but I recommend to add some checkpoints next time :)

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13am

At first I thought de-synching your squirrels by having one remain stuck on a block was a bug, then I understood I actually needed to do that in order to progress ! Pretty fun :D I didn't get to the end though, got stuck ... But that's just my lack of patience ! Very nice game !!!

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:31am

Nice concept. Reminds me to the Chronos Twin game for the Nintendo DS.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Those buzzsaws! It took me a couple of tries before I realized I could split my squirrels up. Nice job :)

Donar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Nice Game! I walked against a wall to get some distance between the two squirrels and therefore make my life easier ... then I realized that some parts are impossible to do this way, so I head to go back and change the positioning again.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Took me a moment to realize I can use the blocks to adjust the squirrels movement, pretty creative game!

I think some collisions like the sawblades are bit brutal and could be adjusted.

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41pm

I had a similar idea before the jam started and thought naaaaah that;ll never work... turns out it does! Had loads of fun with this one, really well put together, gratz.

Amvere says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47am

Nice game! There are some really challenging sections.

MaesK says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Nice work, I was confused when both squirrels lost synchronization, but eventually it got fixed by losing them to the spinning wheel, so it turned fine... I guess. Poor squirrel.

Pesty says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Nice game, the collision detection is a bit iffy when trying to avoid obstacles

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:17pm

if u start out moving top squirrel falls thru level but i gotta give it up for retro gaming never seen atari type game in a while good job pretty fun

Pesty says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Nice game, the collision detection is a bit iffy when trying to avoid obstacles

eott says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Nice game, it has surprising depth due to the "progression shift" mechanic. As others I first thought that's a bug, but it's a feature alright.

puppymythril says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Had trouble with the buzzsaw collisions, even after making each squirrel move differently I'd still end up hitting it. Nice idea though.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Hi there. Like the design and implementation. Nasty metal things.

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Crazy squirrels %)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]