Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

TechnoTumor

by suve - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: This entry is very much unfinished. There is no real gameplay, although you may click a few things to see something moving. Wow.


Somewhere deep in space, on a small planet, the Happy Tribals lived their happy lives. Unfortunately, one day, a parasitic, robotic-quasi planet invaded their world. The calculative TechnoTumor immediately began its attack on the planet's inhabitants.

Choose either side and lead your army to crush the enemy in both conjoined worlds. MechaTumor is (or rather, was supposed to be) a very simple RTS, using what mechanic-wise would be a looping 1D map.

Controls:
Arrow keys to move the camera.
1, 2 to change teams.
L-click to select units (drag to perform a rectangle select).
R-click to issue orders. Unfortunately attacking does not work, although workers can be ordered to gather resources.
Hover above buttons when a worker/base is selected to check costs of producing a unit / constructing a building. L-click to produce / construct.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#149Innovation3.76
#378Graphics3.39
#669Theme3.11
#829Overall2.94
#840Fun2.71
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:51am

Cool idea! Impressed that you went for an SDL-based RTS in such a short timeframe. Unit selecting worked OK, that was pretty cool.
Scrolling doesn't follow the world, so it's easy to get lost.
If this jam was maybe 2-3x as long, I think this could really be amazing.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:41am

Good groundwork - shame you ran out of time but it'd be a good game to continue working on and release. :)

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:06am

Hi, I like the idea a lot and the graphics are cute! It's interesting to see your RTS space game, because we did one as well. But for some reason the controls didn't work properly, reaction was veery very slow. But I don't think it's your fault, it's just not working right on my laptop.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:27am

love the old school visuals, would like to see more of the game when it's done

xRubbermaid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:08am

I don't know if this is because I have a high-dpi laptop monitor, but the circles weren't being drawn in full (missing some segments). The actual user interface works really intuitively though, even if there isn't much to do.

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:51am

The inverted graphics looks amazing! :)

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:02am

Really cool, Love those minimalistic graphics

the says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:13am

I builded a lot of factories and made a lot of robots but finally did't find how to kill Happy Tribals. Also, not straight control will be nice for 2d rts like this.

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:11pm

This is what this jam is about. Cool idea and theme interpretaton. Cool!

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:02am

haha the art is great I love those trees so much you must finish this game!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]