Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fragments

by ix - Jam Entry

An experiment: avh4 and I tried to build a javascript game engine in the week before LD (you can find that at https://github.com/ixchow/ldfw). (The framework uses WebGL for graphics, timbre.js for audio synthesis, and a python script to assemble the 3D models, music scripts, and javascript into the final, single html file.)

This game includes two types of "Connected Worlds": the play revolves around connecting the tiny worlds of fragmented memories, which eventually connects two characters that come from different worlds.

There is music in there eventually. If you want to make sure it doesn't skip, try using firefox. It's actually quite good music!

In the school level, you are trying to get the hamster on the hamster stand and the teacher's chair behind their desk. This should be better hinted.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#45Innovation(Jam)3.88
#71Mood(Jam)3.83
#80Overall(Jam)3.76
#157Fun(Jam)3.45
#277Humor(Jam)2.67
#279Theme(Jam)3.40
#349Audio(Jam)3.15
#382Graphics(Jam)3.38

Comments

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:00am

Brilliant! (full-disclosure: I am one of the co-developers)

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:03am

Suddenly... MUSIC! Absolutely brilliant game, nice music, great narrative. I hope you go far.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

Nice take on the theme. I like how it tells a good story in a meaningful way using the game elements as representations of memories. Btw the engine is impressive.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:41am

Superb! Great story and the way it is told through gameplay.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:52am

Nice idea. I can't hear the music, though.

tommyboys0107 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:07am

Nice game!
But I don't know why my music sounds cracked.

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:35am

Amazing work, gameplay and music is fantastic!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Very cool. Never got to the music though... :(

snooze82 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:26pm

wow - very deep. liked it, and was quite a challenge (didnt read your hints first) :)

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:56am

Love the narrative. Great puzzle mechanics!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Simple but perfect.

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:24pm

nice idea, really well integrated gameplay and story!
start of the music was supprising, had already thought that it did not load for some reason (mute buttons were shown)

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Interesting little idea. Nice little twist on the ol' jig-saw-esque puzzle and decent presentation too!

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Didn't even start in Pale Moon X64 v 24.7.1 (a browser based on Firefox), and was quite jerky at times in Chrome even on this intel i7 computer. The music also stuttered/skipped (like you warned it would) so I had to mute it. Won't rate you on the Audio part because of this.

The visuals were pretty cool though, and the story was told in an interesting fashion. I think I would've enjoyed it a lot more had it not been almost a slideshow in the more complex levels.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Interesting puzzle mechanic, and the narrative is well driven through it

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Hi there. Like the look and feel, slowly moving but fixed position camera. Grabbable isometric world. All very tactile. Music did glitch on Chrome/W8.1. Good job!

ehtd says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:08am

Very innovative, liked the story telling

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:09am

Ah, this is a really neat game! Figuring out puzzles like these are always fun. Also, I love the minimalism in the art, I think it works perfectly with this game.

pjimmy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:39am

nice, well done

rallebauz says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:42pm

I love it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]