Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Racist Restaurants

by TijmenTio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Racist Restaurants is a 2 player versus fighter game about different ethnic restaurants that cannot coexist because they're racist. Their restaurants connect their worlds, but they differ too much...
Foodfight!

- You can also play against the AI controlled computer -

Controls:
Player 1: SPACEBAR
(left/right arrow keys for selecting restaurant)
Player 2: Z
(A/D for selecting restaurant)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Humor4.13
#27Audio3.96
#29Fun3.96
#45Graphics4.23
#127Overall3.72
#166Mood3.50
#464Innovation3.28
#708Theme3.04
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Eddy93 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:28am

FIRST!
This is HILARIOUS! I like the sound and your art style most. You could make it more difficult, that's the only minor thing. Even tho this is the first LD Game I played. (5/5)

Wolve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:47am

M-m-Monster Tomaaaatoooooo
Well designed and top-notch beer belly animation, 2 thumbs up

simonnaus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Great Game! Feels very complete and polished.

Ditto says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Haha, this was very different from what I expected, really cool! Looking forward to trying with a friend later! :D

sez says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28pm

I have no idea how it works, but I like it.
Throwing food is always fun. Well Done!

Shide says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:26pm

I press space randomly and still winning that.
I like it.
Graphics and audio are great, by the way!

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:28am

Haha, your games' style is always so great man. Made a really solid multiplayer game here. I'm definitely going to try it out later against a non AI.

Very amusing, you nailed game feel, nailed it graphically, the projectile weapons etc. are great. I love it. Especially all the different characters and various stereotypes. Great audio too.

Just great submission all round, nice one.

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Awesome music, and sounds as always! The sounds really add to the overall atmosphere. The pixelart is funny as always, I like how the characters don't have eyes. It's a simple and solid game. It has potential to be alot better with more time on your hands.

foolmoron says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:34pm

This is the dumbest funniest thing ever. The super low res graphics looks really good too. The chaos reminds me of Wiesi games.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:28am

Don't exactly know what's happening but it's awesome! Innovative, awesome graphics and music, and cool gameplay!

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Nice grahpics! As others said, it is a bit easy. I did not have to do anything to win :D Great game anyways!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:26am

nice art, funny game

Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:57am

FUN game! At first I had no idea what was going on, but then I quickly realized it was meant to be played with someone else! (sorry, didn't really read the description before playing).

I think the connection with the theme is a bit weak but it's such a polished and fun experience that it doesn't really impact the overall score. Awesome game, congrats!

GFM says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:19am

Amazing entry, as always. =D

Graphics, as well as the audio, is great! I really liked that the recipe's names are read out loud.
Although simple, the game seems fun... I just need to gather some friends to really test it out. At least, I could play some against the AI. :)

Congrats!

TautNerve says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Great graphics and audio, really funny as well!
Sometimes the screen can get a little too clustered but
I guess that's part of the fun
dat breakfast burito

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]