Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Saturday Night Symbiosis

by Pierrec - Jam Entry

You're turning 30.
Time to throw the best party ever!

I feel I have to explain my interpretation of the theme for this one: all the characters in this game come from previous games of mine, released or not. It turns out they're all connected.

Unzip, then run Saturday Night Symbiosis.exe. If it doesn't work: open setup.exe and switch to windowed mode

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#14Humor(Jam)4.22
#17Fun(Jam)4.11
#17Overall(Jam)4.18
#46Innovation(Jam)3.87
#46Mood(Jam)3.96
#128Theme(Jam)3.70
#204Audio(Jam)3.43
#424Graphics(Jam)3.28

Comments

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:14am

Wow, I really throw a bummer of a party, people even got arrested! Cool game.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:11am

Oh my, this is so good! I love the characters, and the gaming/drinking party we had with them is like the best party ever. I expect myself to replay this a lot.

Robotic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:29am

Shiiiit, I made mr Crepi sad :( now I'm sad too
great game Pierrec, will try to throw a better party next time for sure

Simon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:24am

Very very cool. It reminded me of Anna Anthropy's game Triad but way more interesting if you ask me :)

Pierrec says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:36am

Triad was ma favorite game of 2013 so...this goes right through my heart

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:53am

This is brilliant! Love calling people and finding out what they want, and to puzzle it all together. The "epilogue" is great too :D

I'll play this later again to see how things can turn out. There are so many possibilites!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:09am

That was really interesting. Loving all the characters!

Morusque says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:23am

Fantastic game ! I like to get small stories as a reward rather than a simple score.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:58am

Very well done! I enjoyed the character's small stories and how they connected in the end.
Ends perfectly rounded in a well-chosen song. Superb! :D

dunin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:25pm

My first party was horrible. Fortunately it's a game and I could make a perfect party on second try.
Good idea.
(and the neighbor remind me that I have test Agricola...)

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Loved it. Really nicely sketched characters, a fun mechanic, well-chosen music, cute artwork and above all a lot of heart. I've played it through three times and I'll probably come back to it again later.

(My first party was mediocre, by the way, but I'm improving!)

jerombd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Really well-done as usual; it's nice to see your old characters aging.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Again a nice game by pierrec, played it for about an hour before throwing the best party EVER.
The music is great and stays in your head after you closed the game, every character is lovely and the story behind them is great.

Damn I wish I could witness this Amy-Candy twerking contest for... hum... scientific reasons.
Great job.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Perfect party! Took me a while but i did it. Really good game best one so far (only played 6 but still).

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Dude, I really enjoyed your game. Perfect concept and nice plot! :D

ceosol says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:43pm

In response to your comment on my game. I wish I had more content also. I wanted aliens and curve ball asteroids and such. Too little time for such ambition :)

Your game though, I think is the most well rounded games I have seen this competition. Some games may be rated slightly higher in certain categories, but you hit all 7 aspects very well. Great entry.

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Really nice concept. I felt a little sad after throwing a shitty party :D

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:37pm

good

Artamus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Very good game, loved it, congrats!

tvc15 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Please make a mac version! I'd love to try it but I can't with OSX

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:35pm

This is great! My party went hilariously disastrous. Quite realistic if you ask me :P

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:35am

I think your take on the theme is very good. :) I threw an epic party and loved it! Great game.

jahmaican says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:07am

I really enjoyed the game! My party wasn't very good though :( Excuse me while I go and play again!

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Love this game. Great little stories for all the characters. I thought I had thrown a great party right till the very end when the game told me it was mediocre :D Will definitely be going back and playing this some more.

Jod says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:51pm

That's really cool! I liked it.

Gaeel says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Looks like I know a lot of stoners, huh...

ponk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Cool game!
Really enjoyed it, restart 3 times to get my party right.
Nice dialogs and cool consequences from choices

moi93101 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:58pm

I love the personnal use of theme.

UoLCompSoc says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:27pm

I've played 3 times already and this is the only game I've not deleted straight after; it's really "finished" for an LD game. I'll probably go play it again to try and get it right!

Love the creativity with the theme, and now I want to go make more games so I have enough characters to do something similar. :D

Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:35pm

One of the nicest experiences I've had this LD, very sweet. The characters were distinct and interesting and I liked trying to decide who to invite. My party ended up okay but unremarkable which I was quite happy with. Will have to go back and play because I'm interested to see on what other epilogues I can end up with. Nicely done.

Code White says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Oh wow. Most of the games you find here are over in a minute. I spent an hour with this game, and I was still getting bad parties. There are so many possible combinations!

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:17pm

There really needs to be a Ludum Dare rating system for Writing, because this was a five star story experience. :) Well done!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Cool idea. Now I'm really curious to know more about your other games...
(This bubble sound effect on the title screen irks me though >__<)

Pierrec says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:22pm

They can be find here : https://abunchofgames.wordpress.com/ :)

I might add some music in the game for a post-compo version. Maybe the bubble sounds will be more bearable then

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:25pm

I've just play two times and love the idea and the replay value. We thought about the idea "Everyone is a world" but dropped it, glad to see you thought the same and made it in a non-expected way ! The characters were cool and funny.

Lythom says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Hi Pierrec, here's some feedback.

What I liked :
- Story consistancy. Tried a few things but couldn't make the story inconsistant, nice one !
- Game play really based on character relations and importance of call order.
- Characters descriptions : short and helpfuls.
- Epilogs

What imo could be improved :
- save points or option to undo last call (in order to test more scenarios =))
- UI graphics lack some fantasy
- Window mode instead of fullscrenn (or did I miss it ?)

Overall is excellent ! I really enjoyed your game =)
Thanks !

ncannasse says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Great and solid game, really enjoyed playing it ! Still trying to make a better party, I'll keep playing a bit more

EMAK says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:48pm

6 or 7 stars in humour!!! so much replayablility!!!

Jilt says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:45pm

All my parties are awful but I loooooooove it
!!!
!!!
!!!

GrooveMan says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:51am

I threw an average party, but that's good enough for me. Some of the choices feel like they exist more as guesswork than things I could have genuinely puzzled out, but I don't begrudge that too badly.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:35pm

An heartwarming game, with clever writing and relatable situations. I want to try every possible ending, but it's getting late and I have to sleep :D Great job

Benjamin says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:03am

So refreshing. This one really have a HIGH replayability rate ! Too bad it's not a Ludum Dare vote category yet :D

But somehow, I feel robed on my first party *spoiler* :
- Mark found no gaming partner although I was kind enough to invite Mr Crepi to my party
- Ami miss booze and music and I had 2 on each of them ! ( w the draft beer system )
- I really worry about joe because he drank for two thinking his wife will take him home, but he was alone.

I could not manage to make the perfect party but tried only 3 times until now.

Sep 19, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Why does it take so long to load a game that's just pixelart and some text?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]