Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Prismatic

by Space_man - Jam Entry

The world has been fractured into its component colours! Swap between red, green and blue worlds in order to progress through the levels - objects often only exist in certain colours.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#44Theme(Jam)3.96
#83Innovation(Jam)3.69
#135Fun(Jam)3.52
#159Overall(Jam)3.56
#518Graphics(Jam)3.00
#637Mood(Jam)2.55

Comments

buckslice says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:50am

Really fun gameplay. I like how you could block two characters at once by making the blocks a combination of their colors. Really creative, I only wish there were more levels (and perhaps sound)! Nice work.

LTPATS says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:08am

Fun game! Unfortunately I would get consistent lag spikes every few seconds, I'm not entirely sure what was causing it. I love the concept and the gameplay was fun, great work!

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:05pm

I like the spin you put on an old concept (lost vikings style). Shortening the length of time it takes to swing reds sword would be an improvement though.

hate-marina says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Nice concept! I've tried to implement something like this but ended up with showing one wodld at a time.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Pretty fun game, I liked the cooperation aspect between characters. It wasn't very challenging, but nice to play, nonetheless. ^^"

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:18pm

great puzzles and concept, props!

mclewis says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:23am

My favorite game I've played this jam. A great use of the theme.

Nick Weihs says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:16am

I enjoyed figuring this game out. The puzzles were pretty easy to follow, usually it was just a matter of figuring out which dude could actually do something. I feel like by the end, there wasn't enough challenge, but it was still pretty fun. The hit detection on the enemies seemed a little off, the player's attack was much longer range than the art signified, and the one hit kill was unexpected. I would have liked mid-level checkpoints as well. Nice job on this one!

DeathPidgeon says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:26am

I like the physics engine, I like how you met the theme, it's very original and I like that it's challenging without being frustrating. I like everything about this game.

Tosic says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Awesome idea, I really like the game, but there are no sounds!
Anyway, it is awesome!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:55pm

I enjoyed playing it! The level design is intelligent and the tutorial is well done.

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:59pm

This could easily be one of my favs so far. The only thing that kept me from finishing was the inability to restart a level if you made a mistake. ie paint blocks green with the green guy on the wrong side. Stupid mistake, but then you can't go on. (unless I'm missing something)

Space_man says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:21am

Thanks for the comments guys, glad you enjoyed the game. I may still throw together a couple more challenging post-compo levels, though they might require me to implement a few more features. As for sound, I actually had two friends who offered to make music/sounds, but they ended up being busy that weekend and I ran out of time to make some myself.
@LTPATS: That's odd, not sure what would cause that, the game is definitely not the most optimized thing ever but there shouldn't be anything special happening on that sort of time interval
@Stan Sypek: I don't think there's any way to break a level so that you have to restart it, though there are a couple spots with unintended solutions. For your example, paintable blocks are solid for green both before and after painting (since nobody can pass through white blocks).

jprogman says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:53pm

You should make the statues, that gather players, become checkpoints too. This is to make it far less tedious to go back to where you've died or restarted.
Great colorful twist to controlling multiple players in the same world.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:52pm

neat game and I dig the dialogue.

aeveis says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:29am

nice puzzling, I liked how you could see the platforms in the background. Controls were a bit floating but otherwise good combination of mechanics!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]