Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Literally Connected Worlds

by geometrix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare! I went through a number of options during the opening hours of LD, but nothing was working for me, so I decided to take the theme very literally and ended up with this.

Literally Connected Worlds is a puzzle game in which you must connect together worlds/planets and set a high score. It's inspired by a mix of Tetris and 4X games like Ascendency, but imagine the latter being massively simplified.

Made with Construct 2, Photoshop CC 2014, Reason 5, Bfxr, Audacity. Includes some stock drum loops from Reason. Font is Spaceman by Factor, from dafont.com.

Instructions:
=============
- Planets fly in from all directions.
- Rotate the sun to connect planets using the [left] and [right] keys.
- Connected planets will rotate with the sun.
- Avoid connecting planets that conflict:
-- Air (green) and Earth (brown) planets.
-- Fire (red) and Water (blue) planets.
-- Spirit planets (purple) get along with everyone.
- Conflicting planets are destroyed.
- Points are given for every connected planet currently in play.
- Connecting planets of the same element gives you bonus points.
- Your score fluctuates based on the planets currently present and connected.
- The game is over when a planet reaches the outer perimeter, indicated by the purple circle.


NOTE: I re-uploaded my game six hours after the deadline. I fixed two issues: the game was unwinnable/undendable (stupid oversite on my behalf); and I accidentally left the debug hotkeys enabled. Apologies to everyone!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#115Theme3.86
#320Audio3.12
#350Innovation3.43
#471Overall3.29
#497Fun3.11
#515Mood3.04
#580Graphics3.07
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Ixeno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:39am

Nice game! It makes some good art after 5 minutes! (:

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:57am

A very nice concept and fun game as result. The music is good too.

colludium says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Good concept and well executed. Sometimes connections could be destroyed yet the planets they were supporting remained 'attached'. Aside from that I thought it was a very addictive and novel idea... and good fun too! Thanks!

Thaum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Really enjoyed that :)

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:36am

very cool! I liked the simple mechanics involved in building up my system. it was very pretty to look at after I had amassed a sizable amount of planets :)

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:07am

Pretty good fun - seemed a bit slow, but I'm not sure there's much you could do to change that. Music sounded good!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Hi there... Interesting idea/toy as well as game. The pin function ? Love the sound too. Good job!

tatmos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:25pm

i like connected.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Really like this little sandbox and the visual effect you get after playing it for a few minutes with everything connected. Only criticism is as someone who tends to forget everything could use a little display on the main screen to show what planets get along.

Kyatric says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Playing the game without reading the comment/description first, to see how the "first handling" goes, I must admit that I ended up confuse by the connecting mechanic.
Not in the connecting sense itself, but in how/why it appeared certain planet were connecting and how other weren't.
Reading the description afterwards, I got to see that there is also a "pairing" system. Nevertheless, this is not represented ingame for the player to learn by herself.

Other than that, the game feels like it "could not have an end". I must admit that I stopped playing before reaching the outer perimeter. It makes some sense in the mechanic, even though this perimeter could grow from close to the sun and "gain" diameter at each connecting planet/level of connection, allowing to build/expanding a structure in a meaningful way for the player.

Otherwise cool mechanics, nothing too original but nicely executed.

Congratulations in making a game and especially at your first attempt at LD !

Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Pretty much nailed it on the theme, and the game works as it should. Overall I liked it, although it felt like it needed a few more gameplay elements after you've been playing a while

Erkberg says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Nice concept and execution. Somehow, it's really fascinating. Good job!

torvik88 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:55pm

It really grows on you, nice game! I wish it speed up as it got along to make it more of a challenge but other than that was pretty sweet.

Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:39pm

I feel like an artist playing this game :D

Aglavra says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:48pm

The idea is interesting, and there can be a way to develop it further. Fun game, although seemed to simple after several minutes of playing.

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:42pm

The concept is good, with some more mechanics, the gameplay will be enough varied to make a cool game. But I almost had a heart attack whith the explosion at the end in my earphone!
Good job anyway. I got a score of 388.

Crosstales says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Cool little game - I like the concept!
Good job!

jprogman says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Cool concept. I do wish I could rotate faster, especially when the planets appears more frequently.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]