Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Defense of Geome

by aneeslol - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Planet Geome is under attack from the Curvatian army! Their last surviving ship has been sent on a solo mission to destroy their mothership. You must simultaneously defend on the ground while attacking in the air, working together with both your ship and your ground defenses in order to succeed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#125Innovation3.82
#156Fun3.59
#226Overall3.56
#242Mood3.38
#266Theme3.65
#375Audio3.00
#435Graphics3.26
#587Humor2.27

Comments

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16am

It's really difficult, but at the same time it's very fun.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:38am

Nice topdown shooter.

Kinta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13am

I must say I'm impressed. This is really a fun, little game that works pretty well. It took my some time to get the hang of it, but I never felt overwhelmed.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:41am

Hi. Gloriously smooth and attractive game, bookmarked for later. I was completely maxed out once things started happening on the second board.

joonamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Could use a bit more difficulty. Very nice concept and smooth gameplay.

MrP123 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:48am

Very nice. I like how it gets very hectic near the end.

Frump says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:30pm

That was fun. Very cool combining the two styles of gameplay.

It took me a while to realize I had to manually move to the next level. It would be nice to be able to manually destroy my objects on the right to be able to place new ones.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:48pm

I love me some tower defense!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:49am

Nice mash-up!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:25am

I like the concept of the game, having to manage two different mechanics. Theres a nice strategic element to the game which I also had a lot of fun with. Good Job

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Cool combo! I like the mix between classic top-down shooter and tower defense.
Very well done! :-)

dunin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:34pm

I think the upgrad of the ship is too much. Avoid bullets + tower defense is already a good challenge. Also a start button would be cool.
but fun game.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Very nice concept ! Don't forgot the ZQSD support for non-qwerty users :).

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Holy hell that's difficult :D Great idea! Trying to read tower details while dodging enemies on the left is stressful!

hungyg says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Great game! Nice to see others do something with HTML5 as well :) Hud has too many numbers, other than that it was a really fun game to play!

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:46am

Basic shapes, but the elements look lovely and finished!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:34am

Wow, this was a really cool idea! It wasn't *too* hard, though I wished that I could buy permanent upgrades for my ship instead of just temporary bullet and r.o.f. boosts. The constant degradation of my stuff was really frustrating :< I would have also liked the left hand of the viewer to be larger... it didn't feel like there was quite enough flying room for a shmup, if you know what I mean. Would have liked it to be juicier, too; I think we needed more of a reward for doing well, since this is a goddamn taxing game.

Still, I'm being hard on you because I really like this--bullet hells and tower defense are some of my favorite genres, and I would buy a polished version of this commercially in a hot second. Thank you for the game!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Very cool game, it was an interesting juxtaposition to be playing a shooter while trying to think strategically about the game board on the right side at the same time. Great work!

pjimmy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:47am

great combination between shooter and strategy, well done

OFF says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Hard maybe that with an autofire it would make the game a little bit "easier", actually it could be nice to have a little quiet moment (maybe between two shooter level) to think about the ground base.
The basic idea is great but the game itself look a little bit like a mashup, a nice one, but like having two brains.
;)

xandy says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:13pm

very cool game combination that matches the theme perfectly!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]