Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cyperspace Connect

by Xgor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as data and connect between two CYPERCHIPS in CYPBERSPACE!

5th LD I've made so far and probably my best ;D

Made with Unity, music LMMS , sound BFXR, graphics Paint.NET and photoshop

Can you beat my record of 13 points.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#267Graphics3.58
#280Audio3.20
#295Fun3.37
#425Overall3.33
#475Mood3.08
#649Innovation3.04
#838Humor1.90
#903Theme2.68

Comments

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28am

Great game! It makes the players focus.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Nice game.. It's a bit messy with the control at the beginning but then you figure out how they works.. I like the idea of the motherboard circuit but I don't feel the "connected worlds" so strong in this game..

dusho says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53pm

cool game, nice graphics, fitting music.. well done

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Very cool game. I loved the graphics and the audio was fitting. Well done!

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Nice visuals

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Nice game. I had a few glitches with falling through the circuitry, but other than that, well done! The graphics are quite good and the audio is really great. Are you going to bring this game further? I'm pretty sure that it would have a lot of potential.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15pm

very nice graphics, funny little game but a bit repetitive.
The music remind me of badger badger badger mushroom. good entry.

jthistle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Really nice game, loved the graphics :D

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Neat little game. It would be really cool if the speed of the player was timed in such a way that the blips when turning synced up with the music, but that's just a random thought I had while playing :)

Bernte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Nice game so far. I liked the music first, then started to hate it ^^ Nevertheless, good work. What about generating some dead ends?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Fantastic audio and visuals. The style reminds me of Rez. Gameplay is solid, but gets a little repetitive once you've been around the map once or twice.

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Was considering to do that @Benrte but lack of time and I wasn't sure if people would like it or not.

psydack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:32pm

I like the way you need to think and play together. Nice graphics and sound. Good job

Skywilly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Amazing concept, i love this game ;)

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Very cool game and theme idea! It was a bit tough, but it was fun nonetheless. I did encounter a bug where the movement stopped when I hit a corner.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Cool game! I was surprised by WHAT was challenging - the navigation and not turning too early or too late was difficult and fun!
Personal best: ... 6...

OFF says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:05pm

At start it seems easy and then you forget to turn...;)

Real nice game, who could deserve more tron-like visual effects.

The game will miss of more challenge like ennemies, or change in the map. The music and the sound design are perfect for the game.

Simple and almost perfect.

dhargan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:16am

very nice idea. good job!

kyyrma says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:29pm

I'm a sucker for 80's cyberpunk visuals, so you can imagine how much I enjoyed this. A bit simple but fun distraction. Slightly disappointed the level wasn't randomly generated though. This would seem like the perfect game for that.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:37pm

@kyyrma randomized levels would be really cool, didn't consider it at the time but I can see how well it would fit.
I kinda doubt I would have time to do that with my current experience, if I'd work further with the concept I'd include it for sure.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Definitely a challenge keeping track of where you are and where you need to be. Great game!

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Really fun game, it was a well made game, thank you for this! :)

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:25pm

I could really imagine this turning into a 3D pacman :)

I managed to somehow wedge myself at interconnects some times and couldn't move.

The music was a bit trance like and made concentrating that bit more challenging.

The graphics are gorgeous.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Yesss I'm loving that pulsing cyberpunk beat. I like that as you keep playing you learn the map, and can start taking turns without focusing so hard. Pretty devious that going to the wrong endpoint also kills you~

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:33am

Loved the atmosphere you put together here. Good job!

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Really fun. I was confused by the instructions on the start screen, but once the game started it all became clear. Good job!

gaarlicbread says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:28pm

My favorite part about this game is the constant sense of motion and urgency, tied nicely with a feeling of being in control. It has a great balance between requiring continuous attention but not being impossibly difficult.

It took me a few deaths to understand some of the control mechanics - that you never stop, that you have to turn at dead-ends or you die, and that if you hit a turn button at the wrong time, you also die. Once I got that I felt like I could fall into just playing for a while.

I had a few ideas for extras - perhaps the map could change as you progress levels. It seems possible to make the maps randomly generated. Being able to jump between tracks also sounds fun.

I like that it reminded me of tron. The bits on the player's sphere are a nice touch. Also, the music is awesome!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:40pm

I like that there's some kind of verticality and the minimap can trick you :P

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Well, I'm not really objective when it comes to cyberpunkish games :) That said, sound and visuals fit the theme
The gameplay is an excellent idea, it asks some focus !

Retl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:08pm

I had to mark the file as executable manually, but Cyberspace Connect works fine on Ubuntu 12.10 64bit.

I like the aesthetic and the music, and the titlescreen is eyecatching. I didn't realize until after scoring my second point and ignoring the path to focus exclusively on the minimap that it's possible to fly off of the track by not turning in time. I also found it a little interesting/odd/neat that the player can't self-destruct at will by turning off the path *unless* they make it to an existing intersection first.

It's pretty cool stuff and might be worth releasing for mobile devices with some on-screen controls.

(I never got past a score of 2, but I only played for about 10 minutes. :B )

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Great concept. A bit strange, but work pretty well

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:23pm

The music is pretty obnoxious, but maybe it's just a matter of personal taste. It's also much louder than the sound effects.

The effects are alright though, and the graphics are nice.

The gameplay's cool but maybe it gets a little tiresome after a while. The fact that you have to turn if you don't wanna fall off is nice.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Hi there. Nice tron-a-like cyberspace. Quite stressful planning on minimap while playing the endless runner. Great sounds as well as VFX. Good job!

local minimum says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:06pm

I liked the style of the game a lot and tried a couple of times getting very low scores. But it was fun. You could imagine having the play-field smaller and simpler and the data package move slower in the beginning and then at each turn dynamically up one of the two. (Or maybe the game had that and I just never managed to get anywhere).

Xgor says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:31pm

The game does indeed becomes faster, I guess I could have started it slower. after all, It's kinda based on my own skill level.

nilstastic says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:47pm

The good: Very fun! This would make a fun vr game =)

The bad: Nothing, liked everything. The music when ingame was a bit bland, and i would have liked it to be more like the intro music.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]