Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Circular Logic

by Benn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about circular platforming action! This was tricky to implement and I got bogged down by bug fixing, so the content is a bit on the short side. Let me know what you guys think!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Innovation4.30
#37Fun3.93
#58Overall3.86
#230Audio3.30
#320Mood3.27
#484Graphics3.19
#663Humor2.17
#716Theme3.03
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:24am

man, that gravity is tough to learn but it's a fun concept. would be good with a joystick

pokeplun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:35am

Since this is a 48-hour compo entry, you need to include the source code on this page.

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:44am

Cool Concept, and well designed rooms.
I'd buy a longer more polished version.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:05am

MAAAAN that was tricky. The reversing controls at the centre of the spin is a really tricky thing to master but I would put the time in for a longer version. Good work.

akios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:06am

i like the art , very nice , but hard XD

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:10am

so tricky i like it.

Clyde says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:47am

That was GREAT! I had to tilt my head a lot, but the concept really worked out well!

thedashdude says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:52am

Awesome, would be nice if there was a little HUD in the corner telling you what arrow does what.

Nsmurf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:53am

It's hard to understand the controls at first, but once you do, it's fun.

The gravity seems like a bit of a hack. IMO, gravity should always be down, and not have to do with the hemisphere that you are in.

I really like the concept, I just wish the game was longer!

tchem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:01am

incredible man,,,,, i loved it.... the circular mechanic is so cool,,, really an interesting game, good work!!!

francoisvn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:03am

Really interesting idea. Difficult to get your head around. I'd love to try a version where the whole world rotates so your gravity is always downwards.

inukoblainc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:08am

That was so much fun. Great job!

MCPGNZ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:26am

Like other people said, a little tricky but mostly beatable. The one thing that could be better is for the first time it is hard to see if u actually can reach the platform cause of small distances between platform levels

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:30am

Tricky mechanic, loads of fun.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:31am

I didn't get very far. Innovative as always though!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:31am

Love that music. I found this really hard, but I kept trying and got to the end, so I guess it's got a good difficulty curve. Nice work!

Xenolupus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:33am

I had so much fun playing this!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34am

I really liked the mechanics in concept, and there were some really cool ideas presented, but I often found the gravity just too hard to parse well enough to make good decisions on where to jump

micahcowan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:42am

Such a simple concept, but it makes it much more challenging and fun. Loved it!

kenrickrilee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58am

Hurts my brain :P But really cool idea!

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01am

Overall, it was a fun little game.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01am

Aaand, my first game to rate in this LD30.
This was a short and fun game with good game mechanics :)

Niavlys says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11am

Great idea, very innovative, it must have been a nightmare to code! Too bad the playability isn't great.

superjoe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27am

This is super fun! I want it to be longer. I dig the music too.

cobrajs says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51am

Very cool concept, definitely a little mind bending. Nice work!

hephaestus_rg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59am

i had fun, got stuck at the circular spinning platforms with a wall on one side and empty space on the other (like 2 minutes in)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:45am

cool game. movement is fun and interesting, but kinda hard to get the hang of

soyliquid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:51am

Difficult but so fun!
IMO, gravity is little too strong.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09am

Original plan. I like the motion, second level jump across centre - that was nice moment. Had lots of trouble even on level 3, for my crappy reactions that was the difficulty spike! Could feel my brain stretching to grasp up' is 'inwards'.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:11am

Another favorite of mine for this Ludum Dare! Excellent game! Really hit my reward sensors when I beat it, even if it's kind of short. I can imagine a large-scale game based on this with multiple levels.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12am

The gravity set up is tough to get used to, but it's really cool. I foresee great things from this

jaunmakenro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:42am

Huuuuuu sooooo frustating !

pa3kc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:49am

The game is really challenging that I have to tilt my head a lot of times. Good Job!

sylarisbest says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:05am

Very fun and challenging. Would be awesome with more levels. Good job.

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11am

Sometimes the circular motion is not very intuitive (specially on weird jumps), but I really enjoyed this game and how the puzzles were designed. Good job!

(as some people added above, you need to add the source code or move to the jam)
cheers!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18am

Cool idea, great level design. It made me loose my mind, the 4th circle (after the little one) is really hard, I had too give up. I wish I could see the rest of the game ! Good job !

tanjent says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:28am

Really good work! When you enter each world/circle/chamber a preview vector field of it's forces/gravity could be a good addition.

Benn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:26am

Thanks for the great feedback guys! :D I have added a source link for the game's code now :)

ratking says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:40am

Great use of the theme! ;-)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:53am

I like the concept! The look I think could have been quite elegant if you'd had time for polish, and there's probably room for some pretty interesting things to do with this if you decide to go back to it after the compo. Good stuff.

Clavus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:54am

Well this certainly required some mental gymnastics. Managed to finish it eventually. Nice work :)

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10pm

wow great and very challenging

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Now you're thinking with... polar coordinates! Very neat idea, well executed. Good game!

Kalor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:37pm

It was a really enjoyable concept, controls could of been better but I would play a longer version.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Whoah! Totally love the game mechanics and idea! Innovation is 100%.
Really unique experience for me. It will be very cool if you'll compete this game and polish it!

rlangewi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Neat idea, and impressive too! It would be cool if you explored more gameplay mechanics and added more content in the future, nice work!

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Wow, very impressive, I never played a game like that. I realy need more level! I think its a good idea for a full game. The art style is beautyful. I wonder if rotating the camera somehow with the player would be easyer. Keep up the good work!

joonamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Excellent little platformer. Nice and challenging. Hope to see you make more levels!

Wertle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Super mind bendy! I thought the whole circular platforming vibe was really successful. I'd say the biggest thing you could do to make this better is figure out how to give appropriate feedback for when the gravity is going to switch up since it's hard to figure out without experimenting and it's not really sticky information (since experimenting often leads to death). Nice work!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Awesome and brainfucking stuff... i love it... Cool sound... super cool style... nice physics and gameplay... a little bit too short... maybe you will provide a post ludumdare version... Thank... tagged it as a favotite!

laremere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Short and sweet. Well done!

maad9 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Really cool game. Good mechanics. Challenging, but fun ;) good job!

flwns says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:13am

music was groovy, gameplay was hard and groovy, overall groovy experience

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:30am

AGGGGHHHH!H!!!!!!!!!! So much rage for that fourth world. GG

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16am

Its is soo good. I love the game. Put in the effort to make a longer more polished version.

Animated says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:27am

A nice concept but the precision platforming is a little annoying early on. Also I wish the mute button would mute the jump sound as well.

Resonious says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

I totally dig it. Definitely a bit tricky to jump towards the middle but I still dig it.

brodavi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52am

Wow what a super fun game! I am not sure how it expresses 'connected worlds', but it sure is a good game :)

Amvere says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:53am

Haha, this does hilarious things to my brain on the parts where you go all the way around in the same direction. Really cool concept!

rjhelms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:00am

Very challenging and a lot of fun. Cool interpretation of the theme! I wish there was more!

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:44am

I really liked this! Great puzzle design, I just wish it were longer. And honestly, you really made the game look really nice with really simple graphics by simply choosing good colors and animating the background-well done!

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:16am

Great. game, but where is the theme?

Canyon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:26am

I kept dying but I like the idea and the graphics. Some better checkpoints would probably have stopped me from rage quitting.

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:42am

Controls are rather weird, but I like the whole concept, nice work on what's there.

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:31am

Very cool idea! The controls felt too hard to master, but it was fun nonetheless :)

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:14am

Simplistic, the way I like it, good job.

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08am

Too hard sometimes.

trekapp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:00am

nice! little bit tricky the third chamber...

locknic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:30am

Fantastic entry. Like others have said, it's hard to wrap your head around the gravity. I reckon because you suddenly get flung in another direction so fast. Could do with some slower acceleration for falling. Anyways, great stuff!

callumW says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:40am

Although it was bit hard I enjoyed the mechanic quite a lot. Good level ideas too. I did sometimes feel the collision on the side of objects feel a bit odd but that might of just been me being frustrated at not making jumps

PinkNinja says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Very addictive :) Congrats!

PinkNinja says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Nice game!

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Nice! Struggled to get ma head round how to beat the gravity but got there in the end :) Trial and error.

Liked the background music - good job

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Nice work, controlls kinda difficult to learn but still make you want to play, love the levels design :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:51pm

It's nice game dude

Slikker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Cool idea quite fun and challenging. Good work!

chipcaramel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Instantly I love this game. :D Good job!

prophile says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:21pm

This was incredibly difficult!

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Really fun and challenging!

Cosmonautas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Nice Job

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Great fun, challenging and requires focus! Love it, exactly what I went for :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Lots of fun.

alangamebot says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Very cool. I want more levels now :)

Floko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Very nice!! I`m impressed with the gravity mechanics in this game, wow! Too bad it`s so short, I wish there was more :(

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Short and sweet. Novel mechanic. Nice job.

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33pm

cool game .. the mechanics are hard!, I like it!

jpmit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Good game, I like it.

Probably the only game I've played where the controls are more difficult than in my own. You're quite brave for attempting to implement these physics in 48hr, so for that I award extra marks.

Skywilly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Very cool game, so short but very fun !

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Another awesome idea and very well executed. That thumping bass really adds to the experience. As always I would love to see more "levels"

CoderMusgrove says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Really, really, really, fun, complicated, and simplistic!

godfire4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:58pm

The best game I've seen so far!! I would pay money for a bigger version!!

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Very cool! I liked going through the different levels, It's a little difficult at times. Other that very original and cool game! Great work! :D

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:17pm

AHHHH! It's so challenging. But in a good way. I loved this entry personally, nice level design :)

blindfox says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:10am

I like the game even though it's a pain to master the controls. The art is also nice, and I like the music. All in all, it's a wonderful and simple idea! Keep adding more to it, though.

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:36am

Why do you have a mute option, the music is great.

Torandi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:08am

Fun and tricky concept, and a rather good synth loop

Split82 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:47am

Excellent idea. I'm not sure how it's connected to the theme though. The only problem I got is that it is hard as hell :D

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:20am

That was really good. The controls and physics seem spot on.
The last level was a real mind-bender. Only wish there were more.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:22am

That was great game. I am terrible at it, but it is great. My head hurts from banging my head on the table. Awesome job.

Xaychru says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:43am

Nice concept, not really connected to the theme but quite fun to play! :)

Simon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Wow this so cool to play. It's crazy how fast we get used to having a round gravity! Well done it's really really great :)

glbs says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:35am

It's a shame it's on the short side cause the mechanics were quite mind bending (to get the inversions and rythm asked me some unusual neuronal connections :).

I had much fun playing this and would have played longer had it been possible ! (post compo?)

Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Good mecanics, really fun to play. Too bad there isn't more levels. The music is good.

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:42pm

This was really fun to play and hard. Great work.

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:50am

Fun Idea. Hard to get the contol under control. But fun to play and nice drum and bass background tune. At least for the duration of the game.

Jedi says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:14am

The concept is awesome! I didn't really like it when the ball got smaller; for some reason that made it harder for me to understand the gravity change. Like you said, I was left wanting a little more content. The audio and graphics are quite good, as is the mood!

It's a super innovative idea, and I had a blast playing it!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:53am

Great idea, wanted more levels!

silentlamb says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Great concept, I had fun playing your game! It's a bit too short though.

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 11:27am

Oh Benn, this is glorious. Connection to the theme is tenuous, but the gameplay is excellent. I wish it were longer.

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Addictive... controls (with gravity) are like, 10% too hard I feel... almost perfect but if had just a tinnny bit more "give" then it would feel really natural, like you were a gravity-defying master!

voxel says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:45am

NEAT. This spins me around. Circle reference.

Honestly the only thing that bothered me about this was that my character looked like a squashed bean. Music was alright, graphics did the job, but the concept and execution were really original and interesting.

01010111 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Really awesome concept! I had a lot of fun playing, it was easy to understand, but a little difficult to master - wish it were a little longer :)

kaitokidi says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:40am

Very nice idea, is funny and i found it very innovative. GJ!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:27am

Mind boggling! I could play a longer version of it on my mobile, that would be great. Keep developing it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]