Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Portal Quest

by SirJson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your mission
-----------
You are lost on a planet far away and you have to find a way home.
Use the blue portals to travel to other planets.
Find the address of your home planet to win the game!

Controls
-----------
Move: WASD or arrow keys
Fire: Left mouse button
Aim with your mouse!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#587Humor2.27
#724Theme3.00
#853Audio2.10
#957Fun2.57
#970Overall2.77
#1037Graphics2.29
#1054Innovation2.38
#1063Mood2.18
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

koalamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:56am

Really cool - reminds me of a simpler hotline miami. I had a bug where I got kicked off the map though on the second level after a shot made contact.

C_Walden says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26am

Not very attractive, and it's too easy to get stuck in walls. I even accidentally walked through the edge wall once and got stuck. Interesting concept though, but everything kinda looks the same.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:35am

Got to 3 digits. Pretty nice. Some of the sound effects are kinda hard on the ears though...

Pinqu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:35am

Love the retro graphics :) Unfortunately the game seemed to crash when I entered world 4.

technocf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:28pm

The idea behind the game is good although the enemies deal too much damage making the game really difficult to play.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:30pm

nice feel with retro sounds and graphics

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:30pm

This looks like its written in Turbo Pascal. I love it.

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Nice one though i seem pretty confused about the portals and stuff ..

x1212 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:19pm

nice idea, but in my case the framerate was too low, I have a hard time navigating through the levels ... I guess I will try again from an other PC

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Hi there. Nice idea revealing parts of win condition... feels more useful than collecting crystals ;) Movement along corridors is glitchy... can get stuck needing to move 1 or 2 pixels up or down, but always moving 3 or more... maybe need to align to a hidden grid or something. The combat felt 1-sided, difficult to get on top of the mobs.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]