Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nexopoly

by billknye - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Nexopoly is a multiplayer (player.io) unity game of property buying. It is sort of like a expanding monopoly game. As you go around collecting properties and getting events, if you land on a corner tile it will expand the game board out into a new direction, creating another connected world of play. If you get all the properties in a group you can buy buildings, like in monopoly, there are 8 levels of houses, then 4 of apartments, then 2 hotels, all are shown on the property.

Players pay rent if they land on properties owned by others. You must move by your properties to collect rent from them, otherwise it just stays on the tile, this way you have to play to make money, you can't just sit back and collect money.

You can buyout a tile from another player if there are no buildings on it for 2.5x the current price, to make getting monopolies easier. Purchasing properties increases the prices of properties around it. Selling properties decreases the prices.

There are only a dozen or so events, I didn't have time to make up a bunch of them.

Overall it's missing an end goal other than getting money, it's much more interesting with more people playing with a bunch of connected worlds. I didn't get everything as polished as I wanted but most of the game play I had in mind is there.

If you want a slightly more action experience, check out my warmup unity game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#284Innovation3.52
#346Humor2.69
#360Audio3.04
#486Fun3.12
#543Overall3.22
#700Mood2.82
#825Graphics2.68
#903Theme2.68
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Nice game! I think the expanding board is a very interesting factor and should be part of the standard monopoly game as well :) Very nice music too!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:03pm

think about doing the jam.
the game deserves better art

billknye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:19pm

sneeuwpopsneeuw: Thanks, unfortunately no time for that =/

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:37pm

This is surprisingly awesome for a game with no goal.

I'd really like to play an actual full game of this somehow, where you can get people out and stuff.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I can't get it to work on my computer - no matter which button I press, I jump one square to the right, and then it loops the sound and I can't do anything except type in the chat :(

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04pm

...it looks like a nice idea though!

billknye says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43am

sorry @little-burrito I saw you made quite an effort to play, not sure what was up. Maybe an outdated unity client? but if that was the case you'd probably have issues with other games. I'll see if I can figure anything out. Thanks for trying!

sprawl says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:24am

Started the game, got a similar error to little-burrito. After registering a new account the game worked for a few until i ran into the same bug.

That said, I really like it ! It'S an interesting area that fits the theme quite well. Starting money seemed a little high, but great otherwise, wish i'D see a more fleshed out version. Good job !

jpcote says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26am

Good entry.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:29am

I seem to be getting the same error as little-burrito. I just updated my Unity client to test it, and it still seems to not work :/

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:30pm

You could show the controls somewhere in the game. Other than that it's a tiny pretty game of monopoly. Graphics may be enhanced but that's not big of a deal. Oh and repeating jumping sound is annoying.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Ok, that was a bit weird, but fun.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Hey this looks great, however I'm unable to register.

Capitals says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:52pm

The game is fun and enjoyable to play however it suffered from the lack of an objective.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Hi. Couldn't register, so could not play. Not rated.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:07am

Nice! It would be great that when there are no other human players connected then bots take their place. I did not like much playing alone. Good game though and interesting take on the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]