Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drop of Light

by Snuux - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game about small 'Drop of Light'. It arrive in Connected World. And YOU must protect it!

You must save and protect "Drop of Light" with your X. You should collect yellow bonuses. They activate shield, which save "Drop of Light" on the screen. If you feel, that ball flight on the left side, you can activate speed boost [Mouse Left-Click]. If you feel dangerous, you can activate invisible for short time [Mouse Right-Click]. If, however, the ball flew away, then you have 5 seconds to try to get it back.

Please vote and comment! It's really important for me!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#196Innovation3.66
#241Audio3.27
#369Graphics3.40
#413Humor2.54
#504Fun3.10
#697Overall3.07
#730Mood2.79
#974Theme2.55

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31am

Very cool mechanic! Drawing a line with your trails to keep the drop alive is clever.
Particle effects do not a graphical style make. Yes, they look cool, but you don't have much else going on.
Nice use of music and sound.
Theme connection was a stretch.
Pretty good overall, definitely above average.

chartinboy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:47am

I love the control method!
It would be nice if the tutorial were clearer, and skippable!
Good job!

Sequenceko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55am

Cool music. Mechanics are confusing at the start. GAme is little buggy, but great concept.

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:58am

A big buggy, but the main game mechanic and the sounds are really cool :D

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:18am

Drop of light is about this ball of light that falls from the sky and you have to protect it using your mouse's trail. The trail extends as you move around and the ball follow normal physics rules.

There are obstacles such as fire stuff and missiles that try to "kill" that orb of light but you can protect it with hovering your trail around it (or go into the other world, I think).

I started out the game and I saw the text "In a far far galaxy..." I was smiling, I liked the jokes that the game made in the tutorial it definitely made the instructions stick.
My problem was that the instructions were a bit vague. For example right click sends me into another dimension/world does that mean that I become invincible there? Is there something happening there?

I kept on playing trying to get the ball to stick in the middle of the screen but failed miserably a lot of times :D. It is challenging, if you create a slope with your trail, the ball speeds up ahead and goes out of the screen (right side). If you make a flat plane, it lingers behind and dies. I decided to create random patterns and lasted about 1.5 as long as the previous two methods.

The instructions mentioned that I should

It was really fun playing it, but I wish the instructions were clearer. The sound effects for when a missile is fired is really loud (but you can always turn down the master volume of your device). The colors were OK and I liked the concept.

Very well done game overall.

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:21am

Awesome light graphics (I always wanted to make a game with a lot of lights but never succeeded).
Would be awesome if ported to mobile/tablets ;].
(Ran using Wine)

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Really liked the cool particle fx & the parallax scrolling .. Don't know the physics is buggy or lagging, i cannot seem to protect the drop of light (Ball of Light :)) .. Nice aesthetics BTW.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Fun! Challenging. Gonna take me some time to get good at it. :)

eott says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08pm

I could not quite get the hang of controlling the ball with the tail, but from how far I got it looks like a fun little game. The "in place" tutorial is a nice touch.

Clavus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Was pretty hard to get a good grasp on the mechanics. Tutorial wasn't too clear on it.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08pm

I'm sorry but I didn't understand what I was supposed to do. Could you explain it so that I can play and note your game ?

allenfreese says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Nice imagery and music in your game. Still confused about the gameplay itself.

ReactorScram says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:30pm

I couldn't figure out what to do, the ball keeps flying off screen and I have no way to retrieve it. After a few seconds I die. Good music, though.

Snuux says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:44am

Update description

smbe19 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Once I lost this thing I never managed to get it back, is there even a way if it's outside of the screen?
Anyways, love the idea of the game. (Although I might not really gotten what I was supposed to do and what this connected world (the red one) did...)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]