Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Grim Gateway

by radmars - Jam Entry

In Grim Gateway, you are a necromancer collecting souls from the weird native wildlife. Kill creatures in the physical world & collect their souls in the underworld!

WASD / Arrows to move (jump again in midair for double jump)
Space to shoot (only in necro form)

Team Radmars:
Spacemars, Adhesion, Emarcotte, Brendo, Tokken, steakzzz

Timelapse:
Tokken : Art - http://youtu.be/5TIUIMykBbk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#4Graphics(Jam)4.72
#14Audio(Jam)4.23
#29Theme(Jam)4.03
#32Overall(Jam)4.02
#45Mood(Jam)3.97
#51Humor(Jam)3.74
#103Fun(Jam)3.58
#140Innovation(Jam)3.52

Comments

teoacosta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:25am

I really loved everything about this game. So polished, so awesome!

Danman9914 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16am

Wow, best graphics I have seen so far.

jesterswilde says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:21am

This is really good. It was difficult as a living person to go harvest the souls died a lot. Really impressive for the time. Great job.

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:22am

As soon as I heard the music running I was like "this games gonna be good". Well, let's just say I wasn't wrong. I definitely liked the idea, the graphics were great, and the audio was great. Good job! I'm very impressed by how nice everything looked in so little time. :D

gnx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:22am

Very polished work. The mechanic is very clever. The only criticism I can think of is that sometimes you leap into enemies because the camera follows you a bit high.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:25am

Wow, definitely a show-stopper! Especially after playing all these 48 hour, solo effort games. Really nice work. Great production value, great sound, art.

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:25am

Wow, obviously a very good-looking game. I had a bit of trouble with the camera - it was often hard to see if there were enemies above or below.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:26am

Very cool and polished game with a spirit of classic platformers. Everything about it is cool. The only thing is that it's quite hard (the soul gathering part) and you have to start from the beginning if you die. Also presence of double jump is not obvious though critical for gameplay.

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:28am

I liked this game a lot, especially the graphics. My only complaint is that it's kind of annoying to be sent back to the title screen after dying.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:52am

WTF parrot crabs? Great graphics/music/game/everything!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:41pm

SICK GAME BROS!!!1

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31pm

WOW. Best game so far 10/10 would play again

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:18pm

This game is great. It's super polished, smooth to play and aesthetically pleasing. The only fuss I had was that, when you died, you had to start from the title screen!

JennGyecsek says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Great game! Had a blast playing it! I love the fish with the mustache.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Awesome as usual. Nice to see a melonJS get such a good looking submission!

zeh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:13pm

UNF

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Great pixelart, music and gameplay.

PinkNinja says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Wow, dunno where to start. Amazing Art, cool theme, nice mood... Loved the world switching and the soul harvesting. Its pretty hard but I think its perfct for the old 16-bit platformer vibe it has in it. Incredible game!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Just amazing, love the skeleton reminds me of League of Legends Thresh, smooth control and nice music

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Nice artwork.

Still waiting on the sequel to the robo girl typing game though ;)

radmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:00pm

@mechabit funny you should say that, we're working on an expansion give that game a couple more bosses and a proper ending! ( to be released soon™ XD )

jmf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:40pm

This is great, really great idea, well polished and the music is badass.

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:26am

Wow this is really polished. You guys did awesome work.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:28am

Nice job! Really really well done..

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:52am

Man, killer graphics and music. Really super. You guys always put together a solid entry. My only complaint about this one is how death sends you back to the very beginning of the game, but I didn't feel like the speed (just crossing the levels feels kinda slow) or precision of the controls warranted it being that cruel -- why not just start the level over?

Is it intentional that you can air jump infinitely? If you do two quick jumps then you're limited to a single air jump, it seems, but if you time them then you can just fly anywhere (it did help me collecting souls...)

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:49am

bravo sir.... bravo

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Amazing pixel art and audio, the game has a good Metal Slug vibe! The game mechanics are a clever take on the theme too.

Like others said, the camera close-up and instant game overs (where can I insert my coin to continue?! ;P) are the main flaws of this game, I threw away my keyboard after landing on an off-screen creature during level 3! But I might give it another try later, I'd really like to see the rest of the game, just to check how much contents there is.

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:56pm

First off, I love your team logo! The graphics are really the stand-out here. There's some strategy in choosing where to kill the fish so it's easier to grab the souls later. Enjoyed this one!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Mechanically this is neat. The camera kind of let things down a bit though. I generally wished that I could see what was below me instead of all that sky. That;s besides the point though, as the core idea is compelling.

Graphics and sound are very polished. Could use some more optimization as I found that load times and framerate were worse than expected. At one point I thought it had locked up while loading the next level!

markusfisch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Very cool game and already very polished too! Really like that beautiful artwork and the gameplay is just right! Impressive work!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:21am

I like. A lot. The graphics and sound are amazing. Bonus points for being a Jam Entry and providing source. Nice.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:50am

Great graphics and catchy audio! Gameplay a tad weird for my taste but it works fine. When not in necro form it was much more difficult than in necro form, maybe there could be a way to defeat enemies. Good work!!

Dohan says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Awesome game, but the lack of checkpoints makes it extra hard. Art and music are great.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Sorry, didn't play past level 2. I just can't deal with the frustration that this game brings with it. The combination of large sprites on a small screen and being sent to the title with each death just makes me want to smash things even though the controls themselves were pretty decent (I don't think the infinite jumping was intentional though).

Also crashed my browser (Pale Moon 24.7.1 (x64)) like your LD29 game did, so I had to play it on Chrome. The crash occurred when I died in the spirit world.

Nice aesthetics as others have also mentioned.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:12am

This game was super fun. The movement was a little slow. I loved the combo creatures like beebears.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:22am

This was one of the best Jam entries. nice work everyone.

barryrowe says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:21am

Great visual style. The Art and Audio on this game are spot on. I like the mechanic as well.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:03am

Really cool artwork!

Glaydur says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Wow I really love the art style of the game! Overall it's a really good game. Only gripe I have is with the controls, I really wish they were better.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:45pm

wow, great job

blurryroots says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:13am

I really dig the aesthetics of the undead world. The music distortion in the living world I though were very clever =P It is at times pretty difficult, and omg it took me quite some time to figure out, that you could do a double jump (should have read the entry description *facepalm*). Great team effort.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Hi there. I like the pixel design and sounds. The platforming is a bit harsh/hard to aim right. Good job!

Linusson says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Great idea, nice sound/music/graphics and well polished too, i.e. a fun little game. A bit hard to harvest the souls but otherwise a really nice game. Well done! :)

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:10pm

You set the bar for jam graphics IMO... and difficulty! Man, that's a hard game. :) But enjoyable nonetheless.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Such an enjoyable game to play because the art style is just so polished. Makes it a pleasure to play. Although I did find the human parts of the game quite challenging.

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:43pm

I was really impressed with the graphic polish and the music. Nice work.

andrewkennedy says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Super fun, I really liked the back-and-forth style of the level design. Really nice art and great sound (it was so fitting!). You guys knocked it out of the park!

alhvi says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:22am

Wow! Awesome graphics!! Everything works great! Very impressive!. It was difficult for me, maybe because I'm not a hardcore platformer player. I die too much and could not make it to he end. But in general great work! Congratulations :D

Razoric says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:58am

I have to repeat what other reviews have said... very polished experience, great graphics, fun music and innovative gameplay. Great job!

Sestren says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:06am

Amazing sound and graphics, just a treat to look at and listen to. The gameplay was a little basic, and dying as the human was too easy and too punishing, though.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Love the graphics! I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mlEPiXm0ehY

Rustam says ...
Jun 29, 2017 @ 7:15am

Ability to mark up the map with favourite locations and areas. http://elitewarezgroup.com -NEW: find a problem or error with a word or sentence.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]