Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 30

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lullaby - Mase - Jam Entry

An elaborately framed mini-game.

Controls: WASD* controls the joystick and the Arrow keys control the knob.

*ZQSD in AZERTY version

http://masonlindroth.tumblr.com

View Mase's journal. | View all entries by Mase

Ratings

Mood(Jam)4.52
Coolness62%
#12Innovation(Jam)4.30
#14Graphics(Jam)4.60
#20Overall(Jam)4.16
#24Humor(Jam)3.97
#37Theme(Jam)4.00
#43Fun(Jam)3.81
#62Audio(Jam)3.86

Comments

WeaselZone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04pm

This was ... I mean ... if you ... then you ... because...

I have no idea what happened, but I like the interpretation of the theme and this really cool style. I have no idea what happened but I enjoyed every moment of it!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Very trippy. Controls are a bit hard, but nice concept

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:09pm

It really feels like a weird artgame. Graphics are super cool. I really enjoyed playing this.

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Wow. Really amazing user interface and concept. I'm still playing around with it, I want to spend more time just staring mostly. But this is a really nice thing to play with.

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:23pm

weird but fun to play with
very nice style, love the concept

BillToWin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:41pm

This is really something special. The atmosphere, eg. the combination of the art and sound, is captivating. The pixel art is so varied, so unreal and has a very distinct style at the same time. I enjoyed experiencing this. Thank you. A+

Naytron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:06pm

I no longer feel human. Outstanding artwork. I particularly enjoyed the dance party sections.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Well, this was the most... unique game I've played so far ;-) For some reason I actually found this fun, and I have yet to figure out why.

Kojan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:20pm

I absolutely loved the concept ! Really original, the graphics are amazing, mysterious, and a bunch of fun discovering every screen ! 5 stars

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:01pm

So beautiful style and incredible universe
AwwWwWww... those pixel shadows gives me thrills !
I like every frame and love this insane game
Moving hand also very awesome

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:27am

Like the concept!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:34am

Beautiful art, very trippy.
~funkeh

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:56am

I enjoyed this game very much. I don't know about you all who played this, but flipping through the channels, you'd really had to watch it and enjoy what you're seeing.

Channel 23(sorry for spoilers!) was very moving. Kudos, Mase.

Greg Klein says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:37am

I'm gonna go to bed now. Playing this game was a perfect end to my day.

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:07am

Love how silly and interesting this whole thing is, so many neat lil characters. I've seen your art on tumblr and it's always so amazing and unique. Good work!

doomroar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:36am

As always the visuals and the aesthetics of your games are incredible!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:12am

Simply Beautifull, Video game art at its best, keep them coming :D

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Really lovely artwork and sound design. I just enjoyed exploring and soaking up the atmosphere. Great stuff.

samooJAM says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:23am

I'm a big fan of yours. Again awesome job with the whole art thing, atmosphere and audio. The ending was unexpected and cool. BUT I wish that you could bounce the ball off from the walls. Keep up!

01101101 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:49am

This is art!

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:32am

5 at everything. My favorite game so far.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Great style choice and was a fun experience just flipping through the channels and seeing what would occur next. Favourite's were the nose and the girl running.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Really liked the art style. Sound effects were great at creating an atmosphere. Very creepy (in a good way)!

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Please ignore the last comment. I forgot I had two tabs open and commented on the wrong one :/
Really unique graphic style. Loved all the different channels. Weird in a good way!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:02am

I really love your style. I mean really LOVE. Amazing and trippy game. Thank you :)

racarate says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:49pm

that was really evocative.

i liked how soft the music was, it really drew me in. i felt myself trying to hear, trying to decipher.

channel 13 was my favorite, very warioware.

Praron says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:00pm

So weird, so indie. Mad game, i love it.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Oh man, I love the soft, slightly shoegaze-y music, and the doodle-style graphics. I'm reminded of like, DOS games and Encarta through a filter of Wario Ware.

jerombd says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:15am

Yeah, another awesome game by Mason Lindroth \o/
(The only flaw is the sounds volume: too low).

Drriddles says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:50pm

I Love this game SO much... the style is just, stunning <3

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Hi web link doesn't play in browser.. not rated.

Mase says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Thanks for these comments.

@mrexcessive: I believe that's just a quirk of hosting things on Google Sites. It should play in the browser when you click the download link, with no actual download required. I've tried this in Chrome, Safari, & Firefox.

@jerombd My speakers play everything about 8x louder than they should so I tend to set the audio too low. Someday I will probably fix this.

yodamaster says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Why download? It says "web-flash".

Mase says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:45pm

@yodamaster: I believe that's just a quirk of hosting things on Google Sites. It should play in the browser when you click the download link, with no actual download required. I've tried this in Chrome, Safari, & Firefox.

ClownAround says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:33am

Awesome art style. Love the atmosphere. Totally confusing. But great none the less.

YopSolo says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:58pm

creative, surprising and pleaseant experience, great art.
well done :)

Moosefly says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Unique and awesome, just the thing I needed after a long playing and rating session!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Wow. You have 5 stars from me.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]