Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jack Primus: Peacekeeper

by TeamQuadratic - Jam Entry

Jack Primus is a special operative under the command of President Cubama. But when worlds collide, Jack will get more than he bargained for. Armed with his trusty ruler and protractor, he must defeat enemies from the inner planets in order to gather the three gears President Cubama seeks. Only then will Cubama's true plan be revealed...

Controls: Arrow Keys to move and jump, space to throw protractor/boomerang

Game Guide (how to beat the bosses):

Note: If you find a boss too challenging/glitchy, you can press the 1-4 keys on the title or game over screen to skip to that boss battle automatically. Please try them all out!

Boss 1, Venus: Just jump up on the platforms and hit him with the boomerang. If you get hit by his attacks you will be knocked back.

Boss 2, Mercury: Jump on the platforms and hit him. After he is hit once, or when you get near him, he will turn red and become invincible. This is your cue to jump! He will quickly slam his fist into the ground and send you flying if you are on the ground. If you hit him after he has turned red, he will turn gold. The only way to avoid this is to jump down and climb back up again!

Boss 3, Mars: When he charges at you, he will damage you and can't be hit. The only time to get him is when his back is turned after he charges, but it is only for a short time. If you stay too far away, he will send rocks showering down on you.

Boss 4, Peacekeeper: Made of solid steel, he can't be hurt and deals damage if you touch him. First, you have to redirect a homing missile at him. To do this, maneuver around. It takes some time for the missiles to track you again! Once he is hit, he will fall down and is vulnerable to the boomerang. Once hit, he will take flight and go on a bombing run. Get under one of the solid covers to avoid this. Then, he will return to the right side and the battle starts over.

We apologize for any bugginess. Overall, this was a large step forward for us. The graphics improved significantly, although they were made in varying styles. Unfortunately the gameplay is a bit more mediocre. Enjoy, and please let us know what you think! By the way, Jack Primus: Peacekeeper is a reimagining of our first ever Ludum Dare entry back at LD23. You can find it at http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-23/?action=preview&uid=11631 if you want to check it out.

Credits:
Programming - Adam V.
Lead Graphics Designer - Josh D.
Graphics - Paul K.
Comics and backgrounds - Christine N.
Music - Kevin L.
General Design - Ryan G.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#124Humor(Jam)3.25
#391Fun(Jam)3.00
#538Theme(Jam)2.78
#538Audio(Jam)2.56
#553Mood(Jam)2.78
#565Overall(Jam)2.94
#587Graphics(Jam)2.87
#607Innovation(Jam)2.60

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Dang that was hard lol but very creative and fun game!

grillaface says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:00am

is there a mac / web build?

ShivaFang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:03am

Best game I've played so far.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:12am

@Seraphic Media Glad you enjoyed! Sorry about the difficulty. Balancing a game isn't easy in such a short time!

@grillaface I may look into making a web build in the next couple of weeks, but I wouldn't count on it, sorry.

@ShivaFang Wow, glad you liked it so much. Thanks for playing!

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12am

I agree with others, the game is really challenging, but if you have patience and study the enemy movements, it is solvable. Nice project!

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:15am

Loved the comic book style!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:41am

I found the protractor button after some experimentation. I am not sure if there is a ruler.

se1by says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:47am

Chrome blocks the download for me :o

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:50am

@hamster_mk_4 No ruler, sorry. The controls are mentioned above though.

@se1by Yeah, I've gotten reports of that in the past. Normally uploading it in a .zip folder fixes it, which is included in the post, but if not I can't really do anything about it.

tommyboys0107 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:03am

Final boss is somewhat tricky.
Great job! I like it!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:49am

Love the creative input for each level. No bosses are created equal, you'll have to find ways of effectively defeating them. Awesome game!

Cosrnos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:47am

Haha, ouph, tough game. I liked that each level and boss had it's own personality, and some thought obviously went into the placement of platforms. Great job.

rRootagea says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:36am

Best final boss of all time

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:30am

Nice intro! Great music and pretty good work overall

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:47am

Great game! Loved the artwork!!

Stepwise says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:03am

Great intro like everyone has mentioned. I found the bosses rather unforgiving, though solvable indeed for how to fight them. Felt like the game could have benefited a lot from physics having more time spent on them. Again great pacing for the opening sequence, had a few giggles.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:16am

Really cool game, and THANK YOU for adding a button to skip levels, otherwise I'd be stuck on Mercury! It would be nice if you could see farther on that level... if you're at the top of the screen, you have no time to react before meteors hit you.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:40am

Fun game! Loved the comic art in the beginning.

maike says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:23am

Great game, I like difficult games :)!

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Haha, this was fun. The comics looked really nice.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:47am

Funny theme. Nice job!

Boberro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:13am

Mercury was terrible (music and the fact that it's basically Doom 2 boss, that I always hated :) ), but the game is pretty solid. Good job.

naksrifati says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:17am

Make it till the end. Cool graphics, and funny characters) For me actually the bosses were quite easy)) Had a lot of fun)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Why does he look different in each illustration?

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Can be a bit difficult, but that is ok. Glad I find it, is really nice

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:51pm

cool theme

H1S2 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:20am

i liked the comic style storytelling very much! cool game over all. catchy tunes, nice artwork. some enemies were pretty hard to beat. :)

Sep 9, 2014 @ 12:43am

Nice, pretty silly too.
But it's also really hard because of projectiles coming from awkward positions all the time...

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:25am

I liked the comics! Platforming was difficult since it was difficult to control the Jack. I liked the music but it seemed to stop after being on a level for a while. But, great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]