Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Aliens and Pigs: Why Not?

by lytedev - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Woot! Finished! Started out as a much grander idea and became infinitely simplified (as usual). Again, glad to just finish something, even if it's incredibly simplistic.

Also have to be careful about doing this in a house where Super Smash Bros. is played consistently. Didn't have the willpower to resist and poured a lot of my time into Smash. Ah well!

To run on Linux/Mac, you will need LOVE (http://love2d.org).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Humor3.95
#257Mood3.35
#260Fun3.42
#346Audio3.06
#593Graphics3.05
#751Overall3.00
#844Innovation2.78
#1052Theme2.35
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

blurryroots says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:18am

This is hilarious =P
Collect ALL THE PIGS !

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:29am

Huzzah Lua!

LesInk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:10am

Suey! Aliens must really love bacon, but they sure can round up a few pigs. I got a score of 3800, how about you? Okay, its simple, but sometimes simple are the best. It made me smile. Good job!

ajayajayaj says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:19am

Awesome Game! Very addicting!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:36am

hard not to play a game with pigs in it. I really like the idea it just got a little tedious. great job

ponywolf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

5700 points! The pixel pigs were very cute. Enjoyed the fleeing/flocking behavior of the critters. Great work!

Lasty says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:46am

Fun to beam those piggies up! Scored 5400, got lucky several times with groups huddled together on the edges of the map :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:03am

Nice job guys, liked this game. I see potential for a very addictive game.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Funny Game!

kyru says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Fun game, not sure how it fits into the theme but it was well done and fun to play.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:33pm

I enjoyed this little game, abducting pigs is pretty awesome.

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Good Times! The time limit was a bit long tho

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]