Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dangerous Trade Routes

by horrorpen - Jam Entry

You play as a ruler of three different cities (which can be interpreted as three mini-worlds) which are all connected by roads. The goal of the game is to allocate all human and non-human resources to survive continuous orc attacks for as long as possible.
Controls:
*Mouse - resource sending;
*ESC - exit game.

Music: http://opengameart.org/content/8-bit-title-or-theme
Sounds were made using bfxr (http://www.bfxr.net/)
Powered by LibGDX (http://libgdx.badlogicgames.com/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#251Innovation(Jam)3.27
#303Overall(Jam)3.33
#364Fun(Jam)3.07
#368Theme(Jam)3.19
#382Graphics(Jam)3.38
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

lakael says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:05am

not really a big fan of the fact that you force full screen upon your users. didnt really get a chance to play. sorry

Devtactics says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:49am

Pretty cool! I liked the little sprites, and the mousewheel was a good choice for selecting resource amounts. I played the web version and I'm not convinced the resources were making it to other towns... Either they were being used up instantly or something went wrong.

Thumbs up for randomized maps!

Devtactics says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:52am

Sorry, I'm blind. The orcs were setting up roadblocks. :D

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

This is a really neat game! It is however rather difficult due to the amount of orcs and how quickly they show up. I'd like to have a minute or so to send out a few resources before they arrived. Fun game though! It'd also be nice to have a setting for a smaller world.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:40pm

nice strategy game

ALobker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Either this game is quite hard, or I don't know how to play it properly.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Hi there. As a fan of AOC was looking forward to playing this. A hugely complicated genre and to even touch the edges is impressive. I think the graphical results of your decisions are maybe too tiny - that reward is missing. Good job making so much in so little time though.

Shivur says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:30am

Very good but hard game!

Tosic says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Very cool game, I like the strategy style, but sounds could be better...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]