Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Intergalactic Express

by Dining Philosopher - Jam Entry

Congratulations with your new job at Intergalactic Express!

It's your job to deliver packages to neighboring planets. Make sure you visit every planet at least once.
As fuel is expensive, you only get just enough fuel for each mission.

Good luck!

Controls: steer with left & right, A & D, or 4 & 6 on your numpad. Press Space or Enter to skip dialogues.


------------------------

Made by Jelle & Anneroos, using HTML5, JavaScript with CraftyJS, LMMS, Audacity and InkScape.

Comments are very welcome. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#142Fun(Jam)3.50
#177Innovation(Jam)3.45
#182Theme(Jam)3.58
#343Mood(Jam)3.15
#345Overall(Jam)3.28
#407Humor(Jam)2.37
#465Audio(Jam)2.83
#600Graphics(Jam)2.84

Comments

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31am

Could be a cool phone game with some more features. I liked it, hard to master though.

deathray says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:34am

Interesting concept, good marks for innovation. A bit hard to start with. I'd suggest making the ship go a little slower for the first level. Also it wasn't obvious that the graphic meant I was dropping off packages, I thought i had to get them from one planet and drop them off at another.

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:47am

Nice concept!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Thanks! It is indeed a bit hard to master. Since we played it constantly during testing, we sometimes forgot that the controls can be quite hard for someone who sees it for the first time. ;) We wonder if someone will finish all levels!

@deathray: Thanks for the feedback! We changed the introtext slightly for clarification. :)

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Simple but very addicting. I completed it.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Epic! Like it alot, great idea & cool features!

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Great puzzle game. Would be nice if it had a restart mission option for when you already know you messed up and don't want to wait til you fly off screen. Also I felt like the relationship between fuel and turns was not 100% clear. I felt like sometimes I could do a small turn and no fuel was taken but other times not? I agree though, this would make a good mobile game. :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Neat concept, I like how you played with the theme. Game controls a little wonky however.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:40pm

@BadgerPriest: Thanks! :D Yes, a restart option is a good idea. The fuel is rounded down to integers, that is why it acts a bit weird. I didn't have/take time to scale it.

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:22am

Top 5 I've reviewed so far. Great concept.

sanojian says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:03pm

I really like this. It is a pretty perfect entry.

markusfisch says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Hey, same idea as me! 8) Like it very much! I did also play with the idea of limiting fuel and so it's very nice to see a version of that idea that does this! Very well done!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Sweet little game! I liked how the fuel affected turns rather than distance as I was expecting. Original and fun!

mocker says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Great little game, very hard for me though. It was dificult to get used to how sensitive the turning is in order to time it.

Ramiel says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:09am

Cool puzzles.
And I like the sound when you hit an asteroid ;)

Yoni says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:29am

Very nice game!

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:30pm

That's really fun. Kinda wish there was a reset button though, for when you mess up right at the start

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Hi there. Very harsh resource management. Like the graphics and sound for engine burn, but the game itself - so harsh.. just have to retry levels loads to get the burns right. Maybe you could select the target and be shown the burn required for the turn before committing ? though then you'd have to make it much slower... hmmm.

micahcowan says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Excellent entry. Challenging and fun!

Blobby101 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Cool idea, nice and innovative. Pace seemed slightly off though - it felt like I should be playing strategically, but it's hard to do when the ship moves so quickly, and doesn't give you any planning time. Would be quite cool to maybe give some kind of reward for using less fuel too.

Tosic says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Hard, but good, I like the sounds!

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Great entry. A good mix of puzzle and skill. I really enjoyed playing this. I think there was a bug. I found that when I died on one of the later levels (7 maybe?) I couldn't continue. Excellent work though!

brookman says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:18am

Nice game. It was entertaining and executed well. Maybe you could have added a "fuel bar" to see the remaining fuel more precisely.

Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:48am

Wow great game! I had a lot of fun playing this! Very addicting.

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Very nice game! Once you beat the game, it would be nice to have perhaps a closing cutscene or at least credits, instead of the game just stopping and sitting there. The mechanics were implemented ery well, and the game was super compelling. I finished the game, even though it was tough. Good job!

Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:49pm

@dickpoelen: Thanks! Resetting is now possible in the PostCompo version. :)
@HeyChinaski: Thank you! Maybe you were at the last level? There is indeed a bug when you finished the last level...
@brookman: Thanks! We changed the scale of the fuel in our PostCompo version, so it should be clearer now.
@DeltaF1: The game stopping in a frozen square screen is a bug, I fixed it in our PostCompo version. Thanks for your nice comment, and thanks for playing and completing the game! :D

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:09am

Pretty hard at first, innovative approach, nice take on the theme. Well done!

SoulGame says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Seriously very cool game, it's a shame I didnt run into it during the juding process. I like the core of the gameplay, and features like blackholes are very interesting in that particular take. Regarding Kepler, I think he might also disaprove your ship size :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]