Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Conflicting Landscapes

by glbs - 48 Hour Compo Entry


The place you find yourself in is composed of multiple layered dimensions.

But they only show when their related colored light shine on them.

Some of them blend together, others link to different worlds...

WASD / MOUSE to move and look around. (COMPO: ZQSD)
SPACE to jump.
LEFT CLICK to set a Pusher to push the nearby lights away.
RIGHT CLICK to set an Attractor to attract them.

Find a way between worlds to touch the four floating Artefacts and reveal the overlaying dimension !

Thanks for playing !


Added a post compo / fixed version :

--Corrected the light blending bug that actually didn't always show the blended dimension.

--Added WASD control instead of ZQSD (sorry for that I forgot to change it).

--Added 4 differents designs for the artefacts (instead of one) and an activation feedback.

--And a few changes on the worlds tilemaps (design)


Source and standalone coming...

Downloads and Links




handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:23am

Seems to have a rendering glitch, could not play. Everything was black or transparent.

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Fixed it by going fullscreen.

Simon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Beautiful and intriguing mate :)

CaptainNakou says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:43pm

I dont really get it :/

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:32pm

I love the surreal style. Pulling and attracting the colored spaces was a little difficult, but I eventually got to the end. Very well done.

villhest says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Nice, but I didn't really understand what to do. The blocks were disappearing instead of moving where I wanted them to go.

glbs says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:29pm

@villhest, you should have encountered the blending bug I was mentioning or maybe you where playing with a flat dimension.
@Jishenaz, thanks and congratz for you getting to the end !

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Very interesting... love the art style and sound. They combine well and create a good world and mood.

While it's intriguing, I could use a little more direction. The pusher / abstractor effects feel a bit random or indirect, and I wasn't able to reliably use them to do what I wanted to do. I spent a good amount of time, but was unable to collect the artifacts.

Still, I love the world you've created. I think it's very beautiful.

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Very nice art, sound and concept!
Was a bit disoriented at first - a tutorial would help :-)
But very well done!

Ted Brown says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:15am

The concept is fascinating! Most puzzle LD games don't occupy my attention for very long, but this one certainly did. Ultimately, I long for a way to jump higher than one block (to actually get up on structures to get artifacts) and some finer method of visualizing the control zones of the pushers/attractors, as well as a way to turn them off. But still: well done.

samooJAM says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:23am

Awesome innovation here. I beat the game and the ending was staggering. Was quite interesting to figure out how the game mechanics work. Took a while to find those black orbs when I was playing with pusher and attractor. Wasn't clear at first what the orbs do.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:42pm

The concept is REALLY cool, but I had too hard a time to understand what I was supposed to do (I couldn't find any artefacts?). I also sometimes got stuck in the landscape when a dimension moved towards me.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Really enjoyed that. One of the balls got stuck on a step when I was climbing up the big white tower and kept throwing me back down. I did manage to jump over it and got to the top.

glbs says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Thank you for your feedback!

The pusher and attractor lack feedback that's right, but at some point when you get how they work, it becomes pretty easy to control the lights and thus the terrain.

Getting to the artefacts should then become quite straightforward. (Hope this doesn't spoil :)

@bytegrove :
What I call artefacts are the floating things in the air, you've to exploit the terrain mixing to be able to touch them.

If you get caught in the landscape, use your pusher to push the light away and the terrain will move with it.

glbs says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:41pm

@JoshuaBurr : This shouldn't have happened, It should be fixed now. Well done for you playing through !

Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:57am

I have no idea what to do with it...

glbs says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:19pm

@Nuclear Napalm :

What is it that you don't understand? Is it the controls? The setup? The description?

Please tell me, maybe you did experience a bug?

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:51pm

The game is really pretty. I got the four little black balls to touch. Not sure if those were the artefacts though...Maybe you should have instructions with a picture of what the artefacts look like... I really liked how the dimensions would move and overlap though. And all the graphics looked really cool. Overall the game is pretty good, and very original :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]