Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Heavenly Finger Squad

by Alexandre Szybiak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Defend the world of god against the evil threat. Destroy the ladder from hell with the hand of the almighty.

INSTRUCTIONS :

- UP ARROWN to smash things
- DOWN ARROW to move the fingers apart
- destroy the ladder and the demons with your godly fingers
- don't touch the bomb
- destroy several ladders at a time gives you more points

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#160Humor3.13
#233Audio3.29
#259Innovation3.55
#350Graphics3.44
#357Fun3.27
#394Overall3.36
#411Mood3.16
#632Theme3.16

Comments

Lars-Kristian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:36am

Fun game, would be perfect for mobile. :D

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36am

This is really good! Great graphics! I love what you did with the theme!

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:40am

Nicely done!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:32am

Nice soundtrack

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:35am

Fun graph and music, but hard gameplay.

cmayhem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:43am

I love the idea! Surprisingly difficult too.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:47am

Good game with nice graphics!

TautNerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:50am

Great! Can definitely be worked into a mobile port~
I could only reach a high score of 30 >:

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:19am

So cute. Quite challenging! Like others are saying, would be a great mobile game!

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:42am

Nice game. It's simple and very addictive. It could be a mobile game too.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Cool idea, though I felt that the controls were really hard. Nice guitar :)

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:23pm

cool idea, good music

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Love that GUITAR!!!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:24pm

So this is the game worth scoring maximum score :) I hope you will make a mobile version of this one!

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Weird controls, but addictive. Cool art style and audio.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:58pm

95! Pretty creative game that looks great and is simple to play. Nice work!

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Nice job! I like the sound :)

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:17am

Meh. Things escalated too quickly, I found.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:07am

Fun game. Music is nice.

syawqy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53am

simple but interesting

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Hey there, sorry you had to play my game without any controls! I've updated the description and website if you want to give it another shot.

I quite liked your game, I was a little unsure of what to do but I got the hang of it in a while. Except for dealing with bombs, I have no idea how to do that. :I Still, I liked your graphics and the concept of the game, as well as the replayability. Good work, keep it up!

DrMelon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Great little entry! Very cute & fun! Great job with this :D

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:40am

Interesting... Instructions weren't super clear..

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:08am

Excellent, 5-stars! Becoming competent with pressing the up and down arrow keys to raise the fingers and pull them away to break the ladder interested me.

With your elegant input and rules, I see a lot of potential here!

If you continue to develop this, have you considered regulating the distribution of bombs more? The number of bombs in the first 5 seconds seemed to vary a lot over 5 different plays. For example, instead of rolling a die with one side being a bomb, shuffle deck of cards with one card being a bomb. Then take out one of the non-bomb cards to increase difficulty. Just an example.

Also have you considered tuning up the responsiveness of the down arrow key? I pressed and the fingers backed away from the ladder, but they didn't go down that quickly.

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Very nice hands and super cool concept

Aaants says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Something a bit different! Nice work

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:01am

Liked the theme and general gameplay here. I think you could maybe tighten up controls a bit? Good stuff.

Simon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:54am

Very funny little game. I played a lot, the control are cool and different from what we're used to. The mood is great too. Well done mate!

Meta-link says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Nice game !
Easy to understand, suit in the theme and fun really fast !
Great job ;)

grayhaze says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Fun and addictive. I only wish I was better at it! Good work. :)

JNyknn says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Like someone already said, this would work perfectly on mobile device, but it's a fun game even on desktop PC.

dunin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:56pm

funny little game.
Controls are weird (or I don't understand all...) but fun.

Stending says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Really fun! Love it!
Nice gameplay!

joseadrian says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:49pm

The evil won. Really cool design. It would definitely be perfect for mobile

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:51am

Cool game! My best was 57 points.

I don't have any suggestions! It's great as is!

rantt says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Cool idea, it was a lot of fun. Would make a good mobile game.

Linusson says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:15am

Fun little game! :) Easy to learn but it took some rounds to get a score I was satisfied with (74). :D

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Cool and simple concept! For some reason I first thought the devils were ants. :P The game felt responsive even though the hands are a bit flimsy(in a good way!). Nice work! The ladder might be moving a little too quick?

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Hi there. Liked the idea but proved pretty impossible to play. Like the sounds and graphics.

stvr says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Really unique concept; probably the first defend-heaven-with-god's-fingers game I've played.

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:08pm

What a beautiful and bizarre little game. :) One one of the few to get five stars in innovation from me, and the music was excellent.

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Pretty frustrating controls made it hard to be precise.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Sooooo hard! but very fun and love the graphics!

Tosic says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:39am

Amazing, I really like the musics!

Yword says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Really unique and innovative! Quite challenging! Well done!

JaJ says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:04pm

At first I found the controls incredibly frustrating, but then I figured out hitting the bottom ladder piece destroys all pieces above it and that helped a lot. Nice concept!

Sunflower says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Interesting entry, I initially thought that it has mobile build, because it just looks very mobile-y. Pretty solid and fun, though with me not being a fan of endless games I didn't stick for too long. ^^"

Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Hey! I would change the control scheme (I didn't got used to it). Perhaps you could check out how it works with touch on a smartphone?

Artamus says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Nice game, congrats!

lkr says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:28pm

That was pretty fun, and funny :)

It was pretty challenging, but had a nice risk/reward system where you could try to poke the lower ladders to drop multiple ones.

Interesting music as well - it sounds like it was recorded live?

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:32am

This is fun, but the control scheme is difficult to work with.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:33am

Took me a while to get used to the controls but once you get it it's pretty addictive.
Original idea and nice execution!

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:46am

Very original, I love the idea. Nice graphics and sound as well. Great job!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Pretty hard, only managed to get a score of 28 after a few tries. It's simple but at the same time effective and polished, good job!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

fisholith says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:38am

Very cool, very clean mechanics.
I like that the game is so simple, and despite that, the different concerns you have to juggle to survive actually require quite a bit of skill and thought. :)
Keep up the good work!

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:35am

Very fun game %)
Controls are hilarious!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]