Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Killer White

by Jilt - Jam Entry

I finally made it after three days! I wasn't much inspired by the theme, as you will see (haha). I had to take one more day to "finish" it, so I decided to submit in Jam, but I made it alone.
The end of the game is very stupid and rough, I didn't have anytime left...

IMPORTANT :
To access the end of the game, you have to click on the armchair in the living room (it will unlock at some point, so check it out if you think you've found everything).

It may contains bugs, if you discover one, or if you think you're stuck please tell me! And it may contains a lot of orthographic/grammar/conjugation mistakes, because I'm french and I didn't get anytime to check everything :(

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#21Graphics(Jam)4.52
#171Mood(Jam)3.52
#235Humor(Jam)2.79
#320Overall(Jam)3.31
#363Audio(Jam)3.12
#378Fun(Jam)3.04
#614Innovation(Jam)2.58
#731Theme(Jam)1.92
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Robotic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:40am

NOW I HAVE ALL THE PIECES OF THE PUZZLE

Jilt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:09am

Hahahaha

TeamEagle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Very moody :)

jomomomo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

ninjascript says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:55pm

The art is absolutely stunning. Well done!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Awesome art. I really liked your style :)

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Nice art

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Ok, I don't get how to solve it. But is lush ad beautiful, I can appreciate that.

skullum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:11pm

I ended up having the same conversation over and over, your game looks very nice though.

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Very fun game. Glad you take that extra day and still submit it, I really like this.

Raphy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Great art, I'm kindda stuck though :'(

Njord says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Very nice art, I didn't solve the puzzle though.

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Typhaine...?
Héloïse.

Also its a bit hard to find what you can actually click.

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Really good graphics!
Love the character design and the style of painting.
Final puzzle is cute and the end is funny !

pereubu says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:16am

Lol, I iz deh Cat

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:29pm

There must be something I didn't get, but unable to figure that out I quit the game before finishing it. The only clickable thing in the living room seemed to be the photo and in the veranda there was nothing I could click. I went trough all the dialogue too but to no avail. Lovely atmosphere nonetheless.

The textboxes could be improved a bit, at the moment the text appears instantly (and you can even choose it if you aren't careful with your clicking) while the background moves smoothly into place.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Jilt says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:05am

I'm sorry that so many people were stuck in the game :(
But it's not a bug, it's just difficult and unclear : there is just two objects to be discovered, one at the beginning, and one later, and two other clickable objects that unlock at some point. And there are many dialogs to unlock as well, by testing all the dialogs options.
I would have wanted to make cleaner textboxes, but I was stuck by time. I'm not a good programmer at all, everytime I changed something, I broke my code. Haha. I would have wanted a cleaner ending, and much much more feedbacks and ergonomy (like, for now, when you click to pass text, you can select a new question or go to the other room instantly...)
And I wanted to make a dialog option "Have you seen [character]", so that the character in front of you say "Yes ! I saw her in the [other room]", and then the character you wanted to talk to appears in the other room.

Pierrec says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Tom Millet (chuckles)
Well...I'm sad to say I couldn't finish the game, and I did try to click the armchair
I found a lot of info though, I sorted the sisters apart, learnt about the beating and the absent mother.
I love the story (and, obviously, the graphics), but the gameplay seems odd to me. Since there isn't much to discover in the rooms (aside from the picture and I guess the armchair) It would have been more coherent to limit the game to the questionnings. That's the part I loved the most. Getting info from someone, asking someone else about this (even if I couldn't question the mother about her absences)
Walking from the Veranda to the living room just to find the person we're looking for feels a bit odd

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]