Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Affinity

by unpronounceable - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Affinity is a puzzle game made for the 48 hour competition.

The idea is to minimize conflict between differing worlds while still connecting everything.
The worlds are abstract floating clouds of particles with one or two colored symbols representing ideas. You have to create links between these worlds.
The links have a degree of affinity between them, similar ideas create high affinity. You can tell the affinity by how the link looks. The higher the affinity the more purple and smooth it is, the lower the more jagged and orange.
Ideas leak between worlds some, so you have to be careful not only of what you're linking to but what you're linking to is linked to.
You can tell how many links you have left to create by looking at your cursor. The number of lines in it is the number of links left.

Controls:
Left click when your cursor is over a world to select it.
Left click when not over a world to deselect the currently selected world.
With a world selected you can right click on another world to create and destroy the link between them.
You can press escape at any time to go back to the main menu.

Goal:
- Use all your links.
- Keep affinity high enough among the links between worlds.
- Make sure each world can reach each other world.

Misc:
This was made using the SDL 2.0.1, SDL_image 2.0.0, SDL_mixer 2.0.0, SDL_ttf 2.0.12 libraries. Everthing was coded, compiled, and debugged using Visual Studio 2010. Tried to keep it as compliant with C89 as possible. The base code was made available before the competition and is stored here: http://sites.google.com/site/unpronounceablegames/LD30%20Base%20Code.rar

Unfortunately I don't have access to a Mac or Linux box. So don't expect builds for them.

This is my fourth successful Ludum Dare out of the six I've attempted. Final build was made about two and a half hours before the competition ended.

The primary fuel used to make this game was cake, meatloaf, and tea.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#169Theme3.77
#297Innovation3.50
#340Mood3.25
#452Audio2.85
#615Graphics3.00
#684Overall3.08
#1028Fun2.45
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Simple, effective idea. I got stuck on level two... I linked all the worlds but nothing happened.

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:23pm

An interresting idea. I seem to not have gotten the rules quite correct. I couldn't figure out why level 3 has not worked. But I could imagine, if you would build up the difficulty more slowly and explain the rules much more... It's a nice, finished game with a good idea at its core.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Why you no Mac?

Conk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Pretty cool idea, I found using links on themselves solves the level when stuck, and if you do that you can't get them back, I think. I dunno, it is a cool puzzle though (: good job

PERECil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Not bad, but maybe a bit to easy. May I suggest to add a timer before "world war" so the player must think fast to connect the worlds. (ie culture versus war)

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:49pm

I really liked this concept, especially the mouse which tells you how many connections you have left. The puzzles themselves do seem a bit simplistic though. Ether way, well done.

mclewis says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:12am

A cool puzzle concept, but kind of confusing to figure out.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]