Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Respire

by Just_delete_it - Jam Entry

*if you can, download the game for a better full screen experience*

Escape and explore a haunted space tomb

featuring the song Last Level by Two Parent Home: https://soundcloud.com/twoparenthome/last-level

WASD to move; slow down to find radio direction (but beware the spirits).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood(Jam)4.63
#5Audio(Jam)4.47
#89Overall(Jam)3.74
#96Graphics(Jam)4.17
#116Innovation(Jam)3.59
#167Theme(Jam)3.61
#499Fun(Jam)2.83
#2202Coolness0%

Comments

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Beautiful. Music, visuals and gameplay all work well together to create a really powerful mood. I'd have liked maybe a few more radios to find, a few more things to discover along the way but that's not a gripe, that's just me saying that I wanted to stay in the experience for longer. Great work.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Once the voting ends, I may go back and add some more elements; thank you for the kind words!

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43am

This game is POWERFUL. The audio blends perfectly with the graphics. Art in playable form.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30am

Fan-tastically spooky! I especially love the spare aesthetic! The controls are spot-on. Awesome work dude!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:33am

Hey there. Really love the visuals, found first radio fairly easily, second not so much. The slow-move/spirits trade off is a great idea well implemented, scary... Excellent sound design also. Good job!

oakus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Atmospheric game with awesome music and good mood, where I really don't know what to do :D.

zeal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Great concept and haunting atmosphere. Would love to play the post jam version with the added elements!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:02pm

the artstyle + the music made it feel really good and everything just worked together! I loved it!

Frankus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Wow, fantastic music! And the art blends so well with it. Enven though it is more exploring than playing, I really liked it. Excellent job ;)

markusfisch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Very interesting concept!

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:05am

everything fits, i love it. i enjoyed it alot.

XenosNS says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Makes you wonder, when space travel becomes commercialized for the masses, how would an accident investigation like this be handled, like those that are done with plane crashes.

Great music, like the paper art. Contemplative.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Really nice graphics! I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/bMx3RCVCht0

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:28am

Very simple concept but terrific execution. The atmosphere is very intense, making the game impossible to stop until reaching the end. Great entry!

Adwinpie says ...
Oct 10, 2014 @ 11:08am

Dude you are a genius. I've played your other games and seriously they have a more intense atmosphere than most games could even attempt. How do you come up with this stuff!? So good.

Rustam says ...
Apr 24, 2017 @ 10:56am

I am very much pleased with the contents you have mentioned. I wanted to thank you for this great article.
http://umton.ru

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]