Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Advesperation

by dook - Jam Entry

Update: Added a link above to a short howto about connecting Unity and Twine and a link to the source.

Story:
Take on the roles of H and G, two scientists and former colleagues as they try to make sense of how the world is changing and darkening around them. Did they cause it? Can they stop it?

Controls:
Just click through the story in the text, click the arrows when they appear to move around (when the web player has focus you can use the arrow keys to move if you want).

NB! Don't use your browser's back button, it'll mess up your progress in the game and get all sorts of weird results.

---

It's mostly an experiment trying to get the Unity Webplayer and Twine to play together. My first time using Twine, and my first attempt at Interactive Fiction.

I only had a few evenings to work on it so the story was a bit rushed. Basically it was supposed to tell two parallel stories, with the same themes coming up in two different but connected 'worlds'. Dealing with fluid perceptions of time and reality. And obviously the whole Unity+Twine thing is about connecting two worlds! (see what I did there?)

Think of it as a choose-your-own-adventure with interactive illustrations... or something.

The Twine+Unity stuff seems to work like a charm, but it did take some head scratching to get it all to run smoothly. Please let me know if anything breaks!

Since this was made specifically for the web player I'm afraid I can't upload any other versions.

(It's only a jam entry because I didn't have enough time)

Wish list:
- Sound and/or music would add a lot to the game. And should be simple enough to add inside the Unity part.
- I planned some actual puzzle elements, but I couldn't get them to work right before the deadline.
- The second chapter was written in the last hour, it doesn't work nearly as well as the first.

I may add a quick post-jam version within a few days. At least I hope to take care of the worst rough edges :)

twinery.org
unity3d.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#68Innovation(Jam)3.78
#104Mood(Jam)3.73
#176Overall(Jam)3.53
#204Theme(Jam)3.55
#352Humor(Jam)2.48
#356Fun(Jam)3.08
#439Graphics(Jam)3.25
#625Audio(Jam)1.89

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Very cool game, fits the theme really well. I like how you have the text not part of Unity Web Player. Great atmosphere too.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Very gripping game. very engaging :) great job on connecting Twine with unity. and an awesome story as well :D

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:06pm

The second Twine+Unity game I've played this LD. Really interesting combination that I never knew was possible. I agree about the second bit not working though, and it is terribly maze-like which is always worrying. The first section has promise though.

Nut says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Twine+Unity! Awesome combination, and used quite effectively.

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Very nice. Although, I was left on a bit of a cliffhanger. What was this experiment?

Magdev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:50pm

This is probably the best use of the theme i have seen so far! Amazing work

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Wow, I love it! Awesome art style on the train, and good storytelling!

pinkduh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:19am

Dang super cool! Loved that the links interacted with the game scene. :) Would really be great with some audio.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Oh my ... All that labyrinth to find a fridge xD ? Just kidding, the game is very old school but I felt the work you put in there. Too bad there are no sounds or musics, that would have brought even more depth to the game.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Very nice! We released a game recently on Steam that also uses Twine along with Unity. I'd link it here, but that would seem like shameless plugging. :P (but umm, yeah, it's called The Maker's Eden)

DarkCart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Nice game!

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:50pm

The "GUI" is great meaning the text and the graphics being separated. This is also a fun and Immersive game. Love It.

JoeEliTommy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Nice simple point-and-click interactive fiction. The overall presentation is good: smooth graphics, and nice writing style.

The story felt fairly linear, and I played through a second time to verify this. Linearity is expected for a jam game though.

I can't say I understood much of the details of the story. What kind of experiment was going on? Why was the world "dark"? What manner of connection did G have with H? Was the briefcase real, or just symbolic?

Anyway, it's a neat little game.
-- Tommy

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:01pm

To JoeEliTommy and anyone else wondering: I only have a very vague idea about the story myself. I wanted to put in a little more to tie it more together, but I spent all the time just getting the game to work :) At least now I have a little framework for making similar games in the future.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:26am

So, another Twine/Unity game.
Interesting.
Have I missed something on this fusion somewhere.
Good graphics.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:24am

Good story. Well done.

CogComp says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Very cool idea!

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

I loved this... The story kept me on the edge of my seat and the lack of music actually made it terrifying for me for some reason. The movement scheme added to that. I was expecting to turn around and find something terrifying behind me at some point, after that quote you put at the start. Very, very atmospheric. Well done.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Neat combination of text and visuals

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:10pm

This was very cool. I loved the mixture of Twine and Unity - that worked really well. The story was well written and the art was great, but I wish there was audio to really set the mood. Good job!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:09pm

What a strange thing. I like it.

The super low fi graphics are very charming on the train.

The controls don't really feel like a good fit for the larger maze-ish area.

Great combination of Unity and twine though!

Too bad there's no music.. or better yet, ambient sound would set the stage well I think.

elefantopia says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:08am

Really good writing. It's a nice puzzle that builds up.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:22am

Great writing, I felt immersed in the story, and then that maze surprised me and made me change my mind about the score, as now I could see the connection with the theme. However with audio it would have been even better. Great work!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Hi there. Impressive combination Twine and Unity. Only the second one I've seen so far. Nice movement and discovery in the Unity part. Like the running train trees animation. Good job!

Lvyn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:27pm

I enjoyed it ! I thought I was lost but... I was not ;)
Good story ! ;)

Trilby says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:38pm

An interesting game. I was quite immersed into this.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Very good entry, I love the crazy plotline and the half nightmarish atmosphere. Great job!

Digiraze says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Love the writing.

rantt says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:37pm

I love the imagery, very effective story telling. I really enjoyed it, nicely done.

kristof says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Very good story telling. I also like the idea of mixing a text adventure with these dungeon crawler like bits. A bit of sound would have been cool though. Also the ending was a bit abrupt. Overall, awesome work!

SketchyGalore says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:50am

I really liked the graphical style! Great use of simple shapes.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]