Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

CyberSwap

by _Rilem - Jam Entry

The game is not finished. Unfortunately 3 days was not enough time and we highly underestimated the work that goes into making even a simple rpg game. So there's a big chance you'll encounter game breaking bugs or unfinished stuff. :)

Also, there is no ending.

If you encounter the bug where the dialog box is stuck on screen and you keep facing in one direction, try if you can talk to someone. That should reset the dialog.

In CyberSwap you take on the role of Shannon a young girl living in Sector 8 of Buckettown. Shannon will take on

Skydine, an evil corporation that took over the world. With their advanced computers they forced normal folk to live in slums like sector 8. While the richest and most influential people are able to enjoy everything the world has to offer, Shannon is stuck in sector 8. She want's to challenge Skydine and open up all sector's for everyone, rich and poor to go wherever they want.

Controls: arrow keys and spacebar. Further controls are instructed ingame.


Credits:
Programming/art - Rilem
art/design - Ziryf
Music - Breezee, FlyingLobster

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Graphics(Jam)4.70
#19Audio(Jam)4.18
#21Overall(Jam)4.14
#33Fun(Jam)3.90
#58Humor(Jam)3.63
#60Mood(Jam)3.88
#125Theme(Jam)3.71
#512Innovation(Jam)2.80
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Kyatric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52am

Despite not being finished, that's a pretty good job !
The only bug I encountered is the disappearance of the action cursor in combat. Nevertheless I was only attacking, so it did not matter and I was able to fight and beat every encounters no matter what. Even the "boss" of the mining facility.

I've loved the winning music, it pumps you so much and wants you to win another fight just to hear it and have it going as long as possible.

I've enjoyed the humour in the dialog (Who's playing scubbabear ? :)

It feels like a nice basis that would deserve to be pushed a bit further.

On the "issues" side, sometime the character gets stuck against a barrel when/where I feel it should be able to go through. Not a big issue, but a little rough on the edges.
The walk speed is perhaps a bit too low as well, or the camera gives this impression.

Overall great team work nonetheless, gorgeous art (as always) and a cool proof of concept nonetheless.

Congratulations !

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:40am

This looks amazing, great job! The art is fantastic, the concept is interesting and not something I've seen in an rpg before and the audio fits it very well!

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:13am

Top class. Art and sound are great. Bookmarked.

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:50am

Really cool graphics. Work hard and see you next LD :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Awesome entry! Even if it's unfinished, the musics and visuals are great, sweet pixel art. I hope you will finish this game at some point, the battle system with all the animations was epic and I would like to see more of that.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Those graphics! Great twist on the classic RPG formula :)

sephyka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:05pm

The art direction is just perfect. You have created a great world! I'm surprise that you designed this kind of game using html5! Nice.

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Awesome entry! Smooth and clean, and I absolutely love the flavour. 5/5

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Cool entry!

Patacorow says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:23pm

And I worried that you don't make a game this LD.
The art and the music are neat and the combat is amazing. hope to see this game finish :D

..and I recommend you to start looking for a better place for your secret stash (*0*)

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:24pm

I beat the flamethrower alligator... I guess that's the de-facto ending. It is sad that the game is unfinished but everything that you've done looks great.

Yword says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Absolutely fantastic!!! I like it very much, especially the Pokemon feel and humors, and the battle is super cool too.

TautNerve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51pm

"Im actually playing a game called Scubabear, don't tell anyone" haha great. Fantastic art and programming, well done.

TeamEagle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12pm

"I've got this amazing idea for a game. A grid with numbers! Amazing right?" Hahahahahahahaha!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Killed by the space-dinosaur-boss :p Ridiculously well done for 72 hours, the beginnings of a full on MMBN-meets-FFVI style JPRG here, very impressive!

+ points for the Pokemon reference too :p

Resonious says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Looks pretty polished!

ehtd says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:23am

The battle system is pretty cool. I played until the boss, but I was defeated, not sure if I can win with just a single attack. The battle music kept playing even-though I died. Awake at home and exit, and I was in the boss house... pretty weird.

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:11am

Really great style, loved having a cyberspace world you could enter. Too bad you couldn't finish it! RPGs are difficult even under the best conditions.

orbitantlers says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:17am

Despite that the audio seemed to be lagging for me, this is one of my favourites this LD.

goosetickler says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:22am

Great art and retro RPG feel. Combat was satisfying and I enjoyed the Easter eggs and humor. Some elements felt a little slow, such as the foot speed and the rate that dialog text was printing. I thought the Cyberspace element also has a lot of potential, great job!

kill0u says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Want moar! :D

EMAK says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:46pm

really great entry!

Oxeren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Wow, that's incredible for 3 days! Great art and music and overall polished game.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:22pm

This is outstanding! The combat especially is way satisfying even though there's not a lot to it yet. I was happy to explore and look for secrets, especially in the digital world. I would love to see this game finished or expanded. In fact, I'll be sad if it isn't!

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Really enjoyed the art style and the humour. Unfortunate you were unable to finish it, was still quite a nice entry. :)

markusfisch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:19pm

I spent far too much time with this game :) Really like the graphics and the gameplay! Very well done!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Loved the visuals and gameplay, would be great to see this expanded!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Neat concept! Your graphics are great, especially those you see in the combat scenes. I love that you could get an animation done that wasn't just numbers popping up over someone's head. Music is also pretty good, but the mixing needs some help--the difference between BGM and victory theme volumes is way too high. Solid SFX work.

In a general design perspective, I'd like to see more interactions between virtual and real worlds, because as-is outside of the one lever in Shannon's room the computer terminal just functions as another door--it's purely aesthetic, not functional, and doesn't do anything for the gameplay itself at all. There just isn't much game here right now. I kind of expected a series of puzzle rooms in houses--think it might have worked better.

Writing also needs work, as there's a lot of basic spelling and mechanical errors in what you have there--which is ok for most games, but for something as text-heavy as an RPG, it's a serious problem. I usually noticed one or more per dialogue. The humor also fell flat for me--you sure as hell earned your reference to Scubabear, but the rest of the meme insertion doesn't give you much by way of freshness.

A roleplaying game is based on, well, playing a particular role, and your characterization wants some examination. Who is Shannon? What does she want? What's going on? Why's she so good at punching rats? What is the objective? We've got no idea--just that we're interacting with various objects because that's what you *do* in a game. I mean, sure, it's incomplete--but I feel like there were a lot of opportunities untaken, just from what there was to see.

I have to apologize for being so hard on you. Combat RPGs as a genre are kind of tired, and I feel like you have a lot of potential to do some really amazing work. Thank you for the game, and I do sincerely hope you finish it. I look forward to playing more.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:19am

Wow, this is pretty good!

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:40am

It may be unfinished, but what you have is just so sexy, and very impressive for 48 hours. The battle system felt great. Animations and attacks were top notch. Graphics and audio were great all around (as usual). I loved all the little easter eggs in the game.

My only complain was the walking speed. It became a bit of an annoyance after a while, but didn't really take away from my overall enjoyment.

This game is begging for more development.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Wow I'm in love with this pixel characters and this nice little world... Good work, fits perfect the theme!

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Whoops... just realized I said 48 hours instead of 72 hours in my previous comment. My comments still stand regardless.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Awesome juicy animations + sfx. Just no content... I guess for a LD Game you could have traded a little bit of the juiciness for gameplay. Oh, but i love how smooth the game runs on my slow computer!

Maybe a simple fetch quest and/or a linear battle arena would have made the game last a bit longer?

PriorBlue says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:34pm

A full functional JRPG in 72h, amazing! The pixel art style is very great, especially the fight scene.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Amazing!!! The graphics, the story, the music, everything.
Is the game I spent more time playing

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Hi there. Amazing amount of content you've made, an RPG in 72 hours is terrific. Really good job!

Patacorow says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Amazing as always. Fantastic job!

GFM says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:00am

I'm not sure if that's exactly everything you guys did, but... The last thing I did, after exploring the area I found and fought a boss.

The atmosphere kind of reminded me of Chrono Trigger's future (2300 AD), except for the jazzy tune. I really liked the references to Pokemon, FF VII and ScubaBear.

Graphics are great. The battle animation is amazing!! The music and sounds are also pretty good!

It's a pity that you weren't able to finish this, but what you've done is pretty good!
Congrats! =D

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:14am

Not bad. It's unfinished but reminded me Megaman Battle Network games =)

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:22pm

5/5 stars! :D Music & graphics are bloody brilliant, but everything else live up to them :) Great game! :D

lekochen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:22am

This is just amazing!

gladers says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Great game, lots of fun while it lasted!

Erkberg says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Though unfinished, this is a great foundation for an rpg. Art, sound, battle and just about everything is top notch. Amazing!

blay09 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Impressive! I didn't expect much when you said it wasn't finished, but I was surprised at how it felt like a real game right away. Loved the fighting animations and sounds. Good graphics too. Nice job.

RawboSaurX says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:47am

Damn, you just earned yourself 5 stars in every category... I hope to see a post-compo version of this some day. Fantastic work, man!

skiddings says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Loved the style, keep going!

Tigro says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Talk about a solid game within 3 days! Absolutely loved it. Managed to captivate the good old 8-bit aura and makes you feel as if you were holding a GameBoy in your hands :) Nice work.

klarax says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:31pm

10/10.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:52am

Super impressive! Its astounding you got this far with it. There is quite a lot here. Definitely get the pokemon vibe here, and thats awesome. Prof Oako, and the wannabe game dev guy were hilarious. Nicely done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]