Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sleepy Time

by SkyWolf - Jam Entry

Lore:
This is Sleepy Time, a time where your little sister gets her well deserved rest; but unfortunately she has no toys with her, so she will have nightmares, bad nightmares.
The house gets strange when she has nightmares, it fills with monsters and you have no way to kill 'em, you can just try to keep them away.
This will end only when you'll bring all her toys back. That and only that will stop the connection between the real world and her nightmares' one.

-------------------------

Info:
Hello everybody, SkyWolf here, i wanted to try to partecipate in a jam with a 2 men team and i decided this was the time; i asked my good friend Eclipse to jump on board with me, and he gladly accepted.
Even though we're only able to join the jam because we've worked in team; we've self-imposed all the other rules on us, including but not limited to, the time limit of 48h.
All the process has been streamed on http://twitch.tv/akaSkyWolf (http://www.twitch.tv/akaskywolf/c/4980786).

You can also find us on Twitter @akaSkyWolf and @WaveringRadiant, come and follow us.
We hope you'll enjoy our game! Take care and keep jammin'!

PS: we advise you to use a 16:9 resolution, we did screw up a little with 4:3 >_> sorry about that.
PPS: Mac and Linux builds aren't tested, please confirm if they work or not. Thanks a lot.

-------------------------

Controls:
WASD to move
SPACE to pick up and throw stuff
SPACE/R when prompted to start/restart the game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#21Graphics(Jam)4.52
#59Overall(Jam)3.87
#76Innovation(Jam)3.73
#83Mood(Jam)3.80
#92Fun(Jam)3.60
#130Theme(Jam)3.69
#235Humor(Jam)2.79
#486Audio(Jam)2.76

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19am

This is fantastic! Great art and original gameplay. What more could one ask for?

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20am

This is excellent. Really like the art style.

Eclipse says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:49am

@WaveringRadiant here: Thanks a lot guys! :-) We had a lot of fun doing this and streaming the whole process on twitch

Tovip says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55am

That art style is really really awesome but I think it sorta looses it's touch with objects that are closer to the camera and you can see it's 2D-ness.

also I think some spooky ambient sounds are the only thing the game needs to really solidify that creepy 'walking around the house at night' feeling.

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52am

Nice entry!
Great art style!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:19am

So moody! The monsters move too damn fast for me! I keep getting killed. :D
Mixing 2D and 3D was a weird choice but I didn't let that bother me that much. Overall a really nice idea and the gameplay worked very smoothly. :)

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:20am

That was horrifying, brilliant stuff.
I love the art style.

bogdanmaier49 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:29am

Amazing art, amazing gameplay. 10/10 from me.

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:36am

FUUUU Another game better than mine :D .. Anyway. I really like art! And everything else!

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46am

This is way harder than I thought it would be =D
With a bit of spooky ambience and some way to run from the spooky things this would hit the jackpot for me =)

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59am

Art Style and Mood are awesome!

naksrifati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:07am

Realy good game. The art style is awsome, and the overall idea two. The difficulty is a little to high, the monster are too fast. I like it!))

Toestee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:30pm

This is absolutely amazing, I love the art style and the world switching, mechanic. I would definitely play an expanded version!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35pm

I didn't read description. Sooo, I almost shit my pants >_<

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Absolutely love the style of this game. The 2D sprites in a 3D environment works really well in this case. I especially like the shadows. Was not expecting the monsters, so that made me jump off my chair a little bit. Everything but the music, which is non-existant, seems pretty polished. Great work, guys!

havana24 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:22pm

The graphic is lovely and the game is smooth!

AmmoreChicks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Excellent game! Cute charcters...

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:18pm

This game is great. Love the art!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:22pm

It is a bit strange but has very good design and interesting

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:28pm

The art-style is really cool, but the game itself is so fast-paced and hard!

borgi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:52pm

I like the graphics style and I find the theme implementation interresting!

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Holy shit this thing is terrifying... really scary. I loved the atmosphere, sfx, and mostly the graphics. It felt like some enemies were too fast and made the game a bit unfair, but overall very good. Liked it!

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:53pm

yes, sadly we didn't had much time left for tuning the game better and can be a bit unfair sometimes if monsters spawn too close, we had to keep a <48h limit. Glad you liked it, and found it scary :D

Boberro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:57pm

gorgeous

Hairein says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Very good graphics and style! The controls were also very easy to learn and the game performed well on my box. I think there is potential for more here and it's good to see what was done in the short time available.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:12am

A bit jarring at first, but a nice little game.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:56am

That artwork! It's beautiful! Great submission, although... it did make me a little sad that I could throw a NES around ;) but seriously YOU NEED TO CARRY ON MAKING GAMES!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:58am

Really nice. Love the art style, and good concept for the theme. Well done!

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:03am

I like it very much.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:08am

Great art style. Nice game

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:16am

Amazing.. Love the graphics, the game is a bit.. just a tiny bit hard.!!! :)
Lots of stars from here.

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Super adorable art direction :D, the 2d art was really cute, a great aesthetic all around. The only thing is gameplay wise I wish you had some way of getting a head start before the enemies, always felt like I took damage before I could even see them let alone try and get behind furniture to dodge them, but still had fun with it :)!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:18am

Damn difficult dodging those tarts :)

The dark theme coupled with harmless objects is super creepy - much creepier than if you'd tried to have horror and blood and stuff :)

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Haha those were supposed to be evil red eyes, not tarts XD but thanks!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Hi there. Lovely artwork, shadows, gameplay. I could not work out how to attack the meanies after 'dark'... some instructions about what to do would have been appreciated... or an obvious example as a tutorial room perhaps. Nice sounds. Good job overall!

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Hi mrexcessive! You cannot hurt them but you can throw objects at them to temporarily stun them so use all the furniture at your advantage! You just have to survive until the nightmare phase is gone :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:25pm

The first switch to nightmare word scared the hell out of me :P Awesome visual style and great job all around!

Rehacked says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:44am

Nice game Goodjob

hb3p8 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Great art and style. Nice game!

Sunflower says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Seems pretty cool, but the movement is slow and I lost twice. The fact it's randomly generated (and the second time I had to walk quite a distance to get a plane) doesn't help. Plus, I had a lot of trouble entering the door. Maybe a little more forgiving...? ^^"

Very cool graphics, though.

The Lag Pack says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Great game, loved the art.

There is a glitch where if you walk through a door as it is changing you become stuck and have to restart.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]