Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Prismatic Worlds

by LandoSystems - Jam Entry

Help reconnect the shattered world.

Controls:
WASD - Move
Mouse Click - Attack
Mouse Wheel - Switch Weapon

You will start out without a weapon, you must defeat the boss of each colored world to gain it's powers.

Developers:
Doug Graham
Brian Ploeckelman
Ian McNamara

Music:
Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#204Audio(Jam)3.43
#333Mood(Jam)3.17
#386Humor(Jam)2.42
#393Innovation(Jam)3.00
#450Graphics(Jam)3.21
#453Overall(Jam)3.12
#499Fun(Jam)2.83
#548Theme(Jam)2.75

Comments

harko12 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31am

Ran a little slow for me, but it looked good.

mtnlookout says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:20am

Nice work! Really slowed down on the heat seeking shooters but my computer is quite old, they also happened to be the ones I couldn't survive. Just a little confused when my "weapon" didn't really change after I beat the "you can get a gun from these" guys. The beam got bigger, but I was thinking I'd get projectiles :) I really liked this, great job!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Should have put that in the controls section, if you scroll the mouse you can change between the weapons you collected.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Great game. It took forever to load tho. Incompetech was a great choice for the audio. I always like their stuff. good luck :)

torcado194 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:10am

this looked pretty cool, but was very laggy on my end. and with the first set of enemies, i assumed (even more so with the text) that i was supposed to make their lasers kill eachother, but running into them was the only way to kill them.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:56am

Movement felt a bit slow, but good game otherwise!

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:43am

Besides the slow movement it was pretty cool!

I've played around with box2dlights before, looks like you're making good use of it here :D

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Interesting idea - I'd make the controls more responsive and less inertia, but each world was nicely handled. Really great audio as well

waynaul says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:29pm

I tried opening the game, but each time, it would briefly display a window and then quit. I'm running and old machine with Windows XP.

I kept my ratings at N/A so as not to affect your scores.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Cool, movement seemed slow, although I'm being picky. Played all the way through and was impressed by the difficulty. Each colour had innovation and I loved the Megaman-inspired beat-boss-to-collect-weapon feel! Graphics were also very impressive, really liked the lighting!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Innovative gameplay, and very gorgeous lighting. Didn't run like the shiniest new car in the world or anything, though.

Bubblman says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Nice game. Impressive job on the lightning engine!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Looked cool, but I got frustrated by how zoomed-in the game was, I would have preferred a better overview.

bluesky says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:40pm

I'm very impressed with the gameplay, well done.

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Really, really fun entry! The audio is great, and so does the graphics and the light effects! Good job!

moi93101 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Look good !

aneeslol says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Loved the progression! I definitely felt like a badass at the end with all of the different tools.

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:47pm

cool game + nice lighting effects; I felt they conveyance/instructions could be better; I had to find out the hard way what hurts you and what doesn't (like the wall and the squares). Smoother controls would have been nice, but hey, it's a game jam.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Nice concept, good job.

twintrite says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Interesting approach :)

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:36pm

The shadow effects and enemies are pretty cool, but I had a hard time seeing where I was going because it was so dark.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Hi there. Nice idea. Ran very jittery once they started firing (red level).

jpverkamp says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Ooh, bullet-hell ish. I like. The theme was a little weak, but close enough and more than made up for it with the graphics (geometric 'laster' shapes is one place were programmer art works just fine) and the audio. The game started out a bit sluggish trying to figure out how to fight the reds and I got a little over powerful after taking purple, but it's pretty neat. I'll second it being a little sluggish on the heat seeking missile levels.

Ramiel says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:03am

Cool game. Graphics and sound fit very well. Took me some time to figure out what the green power does.
Is it intentional to just ram the enemies in the first world? It works much better than making them shoot each other.

Oana says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:07am

It actually took me a while to figure this game out. I felt it was my duty because you rated my game! While I was a bit frustrated at first, I am glad I stuck around because the game is really fun and has a nice idea.

*SPOILER ALERT!*

The red one was the tricky part. At first I saw those tiny things and I thought I had to make the tiny ones kill each other, but lasers seem to have no effect on each other... Then I moved around and found the big guy, so I had to use the little guys to kill the big guy, but I died in the process due to the wall edges being so blurry. Then I went back in the red portal and was confused that the big guy was no longer there. I figured he spawns after a while so I waited for a couple of mins playing with the small guys, and then I figured I had to kill a number of small guys to spawn the big guy (which seems to be what's going on?). Once I finally got the first weapon and understood how to get more, it became a lot more fun!
P.S. Green seems to be a heal ability! (Took me a while too)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]