Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

confLINKted

by AlbertoSM - Jam Entry

confLINKted is a 2D platformer where the red and blue characters are connected, and by definition, so are their worlds. Move your characters so that they avoid the most amount of grey obstacles that try to erase the color from their worlds!

-----

Hi guys! Alberto here, the main dev of this game.
This is my 3rd LD entry, and my 1st Jam entry. I still feel like the physics might need some reworking, but I'm very happy with the result. I hope you guys like it and rate it! I'll make sure I rate all the games of my raters! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#122Fun(Jam)3.55
#125Audio(Jam)3.63
#186Theme(Jam)3.57
#217Overall(Jam)3.44
#282Humor(Jam)2.65
#417Innovation(Jam)2.98
#434Graphics(Jam)3.26
#517Mood(Jam)2.85

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:42am

Nice game. My survival score doesn't reset when I play the 2nd/3rd/etc time though.

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:53am

@tutelagesystems Thanks for the feedback! That bug with the Survival Score is now fixed :)

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07am

Really like the connected gameplay between the characters. This is a bit tough, but a great idea.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Super cool! There's a lot of great stuff going on with the varying obstacles and walls that spring up. The music was particularly nice too! It's an interesting take on the theme, with two characters to pay attention to throughout. Nice!

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Cool game and idea, but the difficulty ramps up to quickly, I think :/

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Simple and Fun!

Buttsteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Really nifty and simple concept. You didn't need a tutorial or anything, you just start up the game and jump into the fray. Really clever use of the theme!

Spang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Nice game ^^ I avoided 30. xD

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Neat! Looks so clean and polished, good work!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Fits theme well, fun! Great work!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:11am

Addictive! Intuitive mechanic and really clever use of the the theme. Would love to see this polished up and put on mobile!

lightsoda says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Nice music and animation, controls felt nice.

kidando says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:58am

Hard game. Sticks to the theme which is good. Congrats and submitting the game. Awesome stuff!

paps says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:06am

really good game, the music and sfx are a good fit

spotco says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:42am

Love that music!
Also gameplay is pretty fun (though not so fun when sudden block of death comes out with < 0.5sec reaction time). Should have made then come out with more warning, maybe some sort of alert (like Jetpack Joyride if you've played it?)

Rocketship says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:08am

Love the game mechanic. The simplicity of graphics makes the mechanic work well because you can only focus on it, allows for a bit more difficulty. Good job!

fil00dl says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:11pm

survival score 190, a really nice addictive game

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Cool. Feels very tight

Dohan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:29am

Very addictive and fun game! Sometimes the red character, while idle, seems to glitch (it's very fast, but I think it's put upside down during a very brief moment).

SoulGame says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:18pm

I thought it would be another classic two worlds platform but you managed to add new gameplay elements and bring something new and enjoyable. Nice entry!

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Really easy to pick up and get used to. I love the little character designs.

malf says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Funny game! I liked the player animation!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Hi there. Love the death rattle! Nice animations. Entertaining endless runner variant. I wasn't very good at it, but appreciated the smooth movement.

Aglavra says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:00pm

I liked the game, it is not so simple, as it seems in the beginning.

Kortuga says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Cool idea and the polish is pretty good, although I wish there were more to the gameplay.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:39am

I really like the sounds and the game play was pretty cool, good job.

dunin says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:11am

nice packaged game. I think thata left and right arrows aren't very usefull... Maybe you can make a one-button game or change the obstacles... It's two ways to two differents games... for now, I think it is between two...

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:12pm

totally confusing in a good way. didn't get far but really fun

hoyt hoy says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:44pm

25/165
Great music! easy to play!
Nice game ^^
Some bugs like avoit a lot of obstacles without move or jump... but realy nice, the animations of jump and walk is good.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:39pm

really nice, addicting game! I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Ix-68aPFWAc

zatyka says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:55am

Very fun little game. I think you did a lot of things right.

- Simple and polished
- Graphics were simple, but engaging
- Music set a nice tone for the game
- Easy to pick up
- Difficulty was added by new elements instead of increasing speed/rate of existing ones. This kept things interesting.

My only real issue is the no-win scenarios. Sometimes the game would just present a no-win situation...at least I don't see how I could have gotten out of them. After playing for about 15 minutes, I got my high-score of 52 obstacles before the no-win. I can't help but wonder what other obstacles I would have run into had I been able to keep playing. So I guess my suggestion would be to try and avoid too many obstacles at once.

Aside from that no-win scenario, I think you did an excellent job.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Like the simple design and the music worked really well. Could see this being addictive on a mobile.

nonetheless says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Tried to jump with space 5 times and got really frustrated that it doesn't work ;) Fun game but the glowing squares are just cruel. Nice job

doomista says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Avoid score is bugged. Even if I die on purpose at the very beggining, it is equal to 2.

doomista says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Btw that doublejumps are intended?

doomista says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Ok, they're not intended. Just made multijump x6. Apparently next jump is possible when yvel is equal to zero

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]