Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

9001 - Tower Defense

by methozoid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple, moddable Tower Defense written in D language, using SDL2 library.

Included 3 maps.

Although the theme wasn't very good, I had fun in this compo.

* There is a hidden message on the death screen!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#749Fun2.83
#761Audio2.28
#905Overall2.84
#946Graphics2.47
#1169Theme1.78
#1204Innovation1.53
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12pm

You should use something other than dropbox for the download. People without dropbox accounts might not bother to create one to download it, resulting in that less people plays your entry.

Frugle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Traditional TD game. :) Not very original but it works well.

LeoZ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Pretty solid, but not too innovative. ;)

miro662 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Solid TD, not very innovative. I find it too easy.

methozoid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:00pm

unfortunately i run out of time and couldn't balance out the monsters and the towers. have you tried it on higher difficulty maps? :P

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36pm

A working tower defens game! Could use some animations, more enemy units and more towers (slowig tower?).Use of theme was kinda expected. And the level with the highest difficuly seemed the easiest to me! Game could have been more challenging. (Didn't mean to sound so negative)

Rock48 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Pretty ok, but it's more effective to spam unupgraded wooden towers than anything

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:55am

It's a good simple tower defence game. I like it :)
But the problem with most games (including mine :p) is the
connection to the theme.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Really solid tower defense game. Nice job!

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:30pm

good start a little too easy could never get to that death screen keep going though i had it on madness and blew threw it maybe a little harder with some more monsters tower defense games rule!! my game is : holiday nightmare

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]