Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Unto Her As She To You

by Calahagus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Unto Her As She To You is a small, romantic, artsy game about placing blocks and building two worlds.

Use the mouse to place down blocks. The blocks on the right show you what's coming next. Over time, poetry appears and the rules of the game change. By placing down blocks in certain patterns, you try to make the ones shown on the left. Complete all 6 to find the good ending.

Made by Calahan Janik-Jones

Programmed in Unity 3D, trial edition, 4.3.3f1 (I really should update, hehe). Sounds from users stomachache, Glameur de sons, Sub-d, and SouthernUK via freesound.org

There were only 5 spaces, so I couldn't put the Linux download up there. You can get it from here:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22198269/LD30/UHASTY%20-%20Linux.zip

Happy Birthday Luke!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#60Innovation4.00
#61Mood3.83
#115Audio3.57
#226Overall3.56
#262Theme3.66
#404Humor2.56
#415Graphics3.31
#514Fun3.09

Comments

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:36am

EXTREMELY creative game with just enough curveballs in the mechanics to keep me engaged. Well done.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Good game, did not get the point of it though, but I got that it was about a love story.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Gorgeous, fun game. Great job!

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Very creative, more contrasted hues could make the game easier.

gatinmnsok says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Beautiful

anserran says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Nice idea. Kind of challenging to keep track of the 6 patterns (especially when second world appears), but still, neat game.

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41pm

This is Creative and interesting ! GREAT WORK !

cptnwaffles says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Fantastic game. Great duality mechanics and a clean aesthetic :)

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Liking this one.

Took me two attempts to beat, has a good difficulty for an LD-game.
To improve replayability you could make the patterns on the left randomized.

Frugle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Very interesting game. It was very confusing at first but I managed to get all 6 patterns. Awesome concept.

Calciumtrice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Good puzzle game with a nice aesthetic and surrounding biz. Cool.

Took me quite a while but I finished it successfully eventually.

Artamus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Nice game, congrats!

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Really relaxing game, even though I am horrible at it. Didn't get the point either. I love the color scheme and music, but I think using premade music is against the 48h compo rules :/.

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Great game, my only complaint is the low variation in the blue tones.

rjhunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:10am

Lines of poetry as levels - that's a very interesting idea. I found it hard to see the specific colours, and I had to move very slowly and carefully to understand whether I could match anything.

The sound was minimal and a nice fit for the poetry. (Although remember that the LD48 compo rules require you to make all the sounds during the hours of the competition.)

Good, engaging game – I played until the end (although I didn't *quite* make it to the happy ending).

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:09am

A nice idea for a creative game. Well done ++

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:09pm

This is lovely. Nice work :)

Skyfish says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Very nice look, and nice concept, but really hard to get my head around this puzzle. I didn't manage to get the good ending. I got too frustrated with the mechanics as they were new to me.

trekapp says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:51pm

I love the romantic notion of it! just didn't get how the thing with the sets of colours works.. i'll try again later :)

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Hi there. Interesting puzzle, liked the peaceful sea sounds. Found the puzzle itself very much like office work. I couldn't remember the all targets so referring back and forth the whole time, which broke my engagement with it.

dusho says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:35pm

wow.. this was really hard.. colors look too similar
nice game though, great idea

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]