Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hitchhike World

by Mnemusyne - Jam Entry

Arrow keys to move. Connect with other worlds to go up and down. You also have limited moves to boost yourself up or down, grab the yellow power-ups to refill your boosts.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#167Graphics(Jam)3.94
#170Audio(Jam)3.50
#227Humor(Jam)2.81
#246Innovation(Jam)3.28
#293Mood(Jam)3.26
#414Theme(Jam)3.10
#424Overall(Jam)3.16
#454Fun(Jam)2.91

Comments

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:13am

Oh this is fun! It's a little basic, but it's a neat concept that interprets the theme in a different way than other games I'd tried tonight. The graphics are serviceable, no sound, and it's kinda hilarious when the islands hit the birds and they explode in to a bloody mess. Neat little game, would play again.

jas7229 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:46am

I couldn't exactly figure out if there was a purpose behind going up and down (is it all to avoid birds?) but the concept seemed very neat and the worlds' graphics look very simple and nice!

cacciatc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41am

Great idea and use of the theme.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:08am

I really enjoyed this. The music and the art . . . it's oddly relaxing to play it. The bird splat noise is hilarious. It's not a very deep game, obviously, but everything that's here is beautiful. I especially like the art on the 'worlds' .

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:16pm

This is really fun.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:19pm

This is very pleasant. It's a simple idea but it works great and the art makes me smile.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Pretty cool! very relaxed atmosphere

nikki93 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:40pm

The bird sound is hilarious. Also the art is beautiful, how did you make it? Great work!

Magdev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:47pm

ahh theme usage is top notch

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:48pm

The art is fantastic. Fun gameplay, too.

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:21pm

pretty little game, nice aesthetic

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:41am

I enjoyed playing your game, it had a unique mechanic that controlled the land. Btw I wasn't quite sure why hitting a bird would cause the game to end ahaha.

Xaychru says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:25am

Nice game, quite relaxing. :)

Mnemusyne says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:43pm

@hundredhundred: Killing a bird ends the game because it's a sad thing. In a world where so many games are about killing, the point of this one is to avoid killing.

leafarz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:01am

simple but had fun playing this game! also, the visuals were cool also the soothing audio!
very clean game and nice execution you did here.
good job!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:41am

Hi there. Lovely looking 'air' world. Like the anchors and cloud moving. The up/down restriction made it puzzle-like and the birds made it arcadeish... Interesting mix. Didn't get very far, those birds were frustrating. Nice appropriate sounds. Good job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Very interesting idea on the theme. For the most part it worked but the controls felt a bit awkward. Great job.

dook says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Really great idea. I love the graphics and the weird floating island worlds. Poor blind birds... :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]