Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Make Some Friends!

by Clavus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Make some friends!

Some people are sad, angry, or even depressed. Their own little emotional islands. They need a helping hand; connect them with the happier folk to lighten their mood! However, the more people you connect, the more unwieldy the group becomes. Can you SAVE EVERYONE *cue drama*?

I wanted to take a more abstract approach to the theme this time around. Welp, still ended up creating a physics toybox.

(if you really can't be arsed, the number keys will bring you to their respective levels)

OS/X version is untested. Let me know if it works!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#45Innovation4.06
#83Mood3.71
#98Overall3.78
#107Fun3.69
#142Humor3.21
#301Graphics3.50
#498Theme3.34
#568Audio2.70

Comments

MCPGNZ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20am

Very fun game! Challenging. Congrats. For a given arrow length generated force could be a little bit stronger.

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09am

Super happy happy game. I would have liked if the could affect inderectly as well. (Or maybe they could and I didn't notice)

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:42am

Very innovative, i keep forgeting the formulas! Ive experimented with LOVE before but i have never seen anything like this!

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:43am

Great idea ! I find it a bit difficult but I love the concept, and the game looks clean and is well explained.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:11pm

couldn't get it to run (linux)

engine/lib/lovenoise/lovenoise:lua:36 attempt to index field math a nil value :(

Flyinpig5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Chrome wouldn't let me download it! :s

Clavus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:25pm

@mess110: are you sure you have LOVE 0.9.1 installed? The love.math library wasn't available until version 0.9.

@Flyinpig5: you should be able to override Chrome's .exe flagging.

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:37pm

My chrome browser keep blocking it for some reason. It says it's malicious file.

TheMorfeus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03pm

I really like it!

AndyGates says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Really interesting game, made me smile! Well done :)

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Such a great social-based concept. Like it. :)

KittyMac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06pm

cute game; the OS X build works, although scrolling/zooming with a trackpad doesn't work so well

lukz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Nice idea! I like the look!

LPeter1997 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Fun and challenging!

Aglavra says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17pm

I absolutely liked this game. It has an innovative concept and allows player to solve the puzzles that have some deeper sense.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Nice game.. Very cute with the emoticons and nice mechanics..
With a nice background music could be a 5/5 but for no 4/5

erdnuss says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Fun to play, very nice graphics. I am only sad that it didn't run fuently on my machine.

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Relaxing. And that sound, like those magnetic orb things clicking together. Maybe that's what it is? Could do with some smooth background music too.

Goutye says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Best game I played ! Nice shoot ! :)

thedashdude says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:17am

Really fun, hard, but I am not sure how you could have avoided that.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]