Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

SILENCE ... NOISE

by RadioLemon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as the Legendary Hero of Sound, and save the City from the feared Silence and the evil Noise!

Timelapse of it being created:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=syLLPAK4pew&feature=youtu.be

Check the manual to see how to create your own gameplay!

I learned a good deal from this, I'll write a post-mortem tomorrow.

My brother joined the compo too, here is his entry:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=20438

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#594Audio2.65
#978Innovation2.53
#1084Fun2.30
#1128Theme2.10
#1160Overall2.35
#1174Graphics1.84
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

Greg Klein says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55am

I encountered this bug when running the game on OS X 10.10 (Yosemite) and using the Jar Launcher. I'm guessing there might be a better program to use. I haven't used Macs in a while.

http://i.imgur.com/ePpq2IM.png

Greg Klein says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48am

Never mind. Apparently, OS X doesn't include JRE. Forgot to install that.

modwizcode says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22pm

It ran fairly slowly under Ubuntu 14.04 on my i5 laptop, too slow to really play it.

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:39pm

I liked the idea but feel it could have been executed a bit better. The game is fairly basic and it gets boring after a while, the graphics and sound are ok and fit their purpose but could have done with a bit of touching up

modwizcode says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:25am

I just played it again on a older laptop running under windows. Works much better, I find the sounds hilarious.

varun says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:22am

Charming sound effects!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:52am

Ran pretty slowly making it hard to figure out.

rantt says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:54am

Sounds were pretty funny.

samooJAM says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:05am

Cool that you allow players to create more content. Art could be more polished but it works. Good job!

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:36am

The game started off running very, very slow. Then, after the first WAIT command it crashed trying to get a sound file. It seems to be a similar error to what happened in another Game entry on here: Saving Gray. It's complaining about not being able to get the sound file or open the line for playing audio. Maybe you can speak to the team who worked on Saving Gray to see how they solved their problem..

But, other than that, I liked that you included instructions for making your own maps and configuring the game. Looked pretty cool. Now if only the FPS wasn't terrible. :P

Ted Brown says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:43am

Crazy cool concept! I had a few difficulties understanding which icons meant *silence* or *noise*, as well as coming up with strategies, but it made me smile. Job complete. :)

Chaoseiro says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:52pm

I didn't understand the concept very well, but I liked your SFX :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]