Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Zoo Hypothesis

by NikSG - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Figure out the systems - the solar systems, if you will - and create advanced life on planets. The more planets with advanced life there are in the same system, the better you do, because life is pretty cool and making it grow in space is neat.

Half relaxing puzzle, half space strategy (once you figure out how to create life).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#164Innovation3.72
#262Theme3.66
#528Audio2.75
#730Mood2.79
#739Fun2.84
#751Overall3.00
#879Humor1.79
#913Graphics2.52
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

atomic_swerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59am

I think I figured it out, though it would be good to have a solver that will say "good job, you've maxed out this level" if the goal is the score.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59am

I'm not sure I was able to figure out some of the interactions between the systems, but I did enjoy it!

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05am

Pretty cool! Not too hard, but engaging.

ianh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07am

I finally figured it out! Neat idea... it'd be cool if there were more combinations.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15am

I really love idea for game. Interesting mechanics.
I found how to create "advanced humanoid begins".

The prototype has the potential. Some things need to improve or add.

7Soul says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07am

I'll rate this a ? out of 10. Too confusing for me ^^'
(not giving any ratings, just commenting)

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28pm

It took me a few minutes, but I got humanoid life. Cool concept, but tricky to figure out as a player. Interesting take on the theme and innovative gameplay. Good job!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Fun game! Loved the sounds. Took me a minute to figure out too!

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Good little game. Liked the visuals as well

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:27am

Might not be very intuitive, or might just be me, but I didn't really get it. Sounds were annoying and visuals are subpar - sorry! Not trying to be mean, but this game needs more love put into it, man! I think your concept has a lot of potential! I think you should keep working on it.

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Interesting game, i like it! :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:02pm

An interesting concept. would be nice to have some sort of cue when yo ureach your objective to know you've done well.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Could not figure it out... Didn't spend that long though.
Seemed pretty interesting though. If I had more patience and time I'm sure I'd have played with it longer.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Hi there. Got to the advanced humanoids. It would be nice to see a few more stages and a few more orbits. Nice graphics, UI and sounds. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]