Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dust

by alycarter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Relaxing solar system simulation game where you play as the sun and try to create as much life as you can.

left click pushed objects around with solar wind. right click blasts objects away. scroll wheel zooms in and out.

hope you enjoy !

made using unity and blender

(may lag slightly at the start sorry)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#277Graphics3.56
#404Innovation3.36
#440Mood3.13
#514Overall3.25
#653Humor2.19
#699Fun2.88
#767Theme2.93
#883Audio1.96

Comments

jomomomo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10am

Can't play windows games. :-(

toranoko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:15am

awesome! you should upload a web version.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16am

Love all the particle affects and seeing every object move affected by solar wind and gravity. It felt very fluid and polished. Great job!

soyliquid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40am

Simple and interesting space simulator. Trying to make stable solar system is so fun! Finally i got 21 score :)

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28am

Awesome look, with great particle effects!

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:34am

The intro is slow but is also pretty good and beautiful.

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08am

Awesome, great job!

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:10am

Awesome game. The intro was a tad too long, but still a cool way to conceptually show what's happening. After I died (and maybe pressed space), my sun started going off screen forever. Other than that, it is a neat idea and nicely executed. Good job!

From Smiling says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:47am

Very pretty! I Enjoyed trying to figure out how things worked
' u '

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:15am

What a beautiful game. Very relaxing. :)

Slooowpoke says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:23pm

It looks great! Kinda confused how I win though. Its well polished and I like the effects. Sounds would be nice.

Foofur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Cool game! Though it's a pity the sun doesn't look as awesome as the other objects do.

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:41pm

I clicked sometime and everything just pushed far away .. After a while things get bumped towards the sun .. Confused about the how to create ...

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Can't download it it says that this is malware ( not antivirus but TorchBrowser is blocking this)

FerrenReve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Cool game. Would buy it, if had more content.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Quite nice! I like the idea a lot, reminds me of Osmos in some way.

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:44pm

AWESOME! I think this is my favorite game of LD30!

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Chrome identifies this as malware (and didn't give me an option to ignore the warning). If you use the "save to my dropbox" button and then download it from there, it seems to work ok.

The game was pretty neat after I figured out what was going on. The wind feature confused me a bit as to how it worked, but eventually got the hang of it. Some audio would have really made this perfect.

lkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

That was very different and interesting :)

Didn't really understand what I was doing at first, but it got neat once I did.

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Nice and beautiful game, congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]