Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Go for the bread

by Ventura - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pily is a kid who has to go for the bread. In the way he can die, if he dies he go to the gray died world, the world change and in 3 seconds he resurrect but if he dies in the died world you lose the game.

Controls:
ARROWS - MOVE
CONTROL - JUMP
R - RESTART THE LEVEL

2 fixes:
- Added button R to restart the current level if you get stucked between worlds
- Fixed main image strange pixels

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#257Humor2.86
#818Theme2.85
#883Audio1.96
#982Mood2.43
#1054Innovation2.38
#1059Graphics2.23
#1079Fun2.31
#1117Overall2.48
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

feather240 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:36pm

When you switch worlds you can get stuck. http://i.imgur.com/4w06jt3.png

rlangewi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:02am

Since your game is a downloadable executable, I would mark it as something besides "Web" so it isn't confused with games that can be played online. :)

Ventura says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10pm

I changed to windows :) because it's a .exe. A question feather240, is it possible to change that after deadline? I thought that you can go back to the another world or die if you get stucked.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45pm

I had some trouble jumping in mine and got stuck in the other world.

sai_aya says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:57pm

It would be better with a few more levels, but it still looks nice !

feather240 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:53pm

You can fix bugs, but they have to be small fixes.
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/25/rules-and-guide-re-written-for-maximum-clarity/

Ventura says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:54am

It's normal get stucked in the gray world because you go back to the color world in 3 seconds, so it's not a problem, i tested and the problem is if you get stucked in the color world.

Ventura says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:55am

ohh ok, if you resurrect then you die again.

Ventura says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Fixed bugs :D

Ventura says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Now you can press R to restart the level if you get stucked

neosam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:53pm

lol, funny :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Game was alright, controls were pretty raunchy.

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:48pm

:) nice one!

Rehacked says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:50pm

idea seem good. but game is so hard that i cant pass 2nd lvl

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:50pm

haha i like the funny art!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:53am

Music doesn't sound in the first level, is it intended?

Ventura says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:30pm

jjhaggar yes, it is intended, i thought that is a funny surprise. First level funny animation, second level funny music.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Cool! A couple bugs to fix. Try to make the player movement a bit more intuitive. Great job on your entry :)

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Having control as jump is very strange it makes the player have to contort their hand. You can stuck when you change worlds and it seems almost like there's no point to staying alive anyways since the "Died world" always has a path to get to the bread.

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:14pm

took me a while to realize I could restart by pressing R, had to read the comments, maybe I jumped in to the game too quickly and missed something. It's got bread, so it's addictive!!

Ventura says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:21pm

liquidminduk I added letters in the beginning, when i Improve and add more levels i want to put in the ui screen. "press R to restart the level"

Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:24pm

I liked the game, it has a fun looking character and changing worlds by dying-resurrecting is an interesting theme. It would be nice to have more levels.

jprogman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:22am

Lol. So bizarre to go through life and death for a piece of bread! The levels need to be carefully designed so I won't get stuck or killed instantly. (I never thought I would lose.)
The character reminds me of Alvin from "Alvin and the Chipmunks", especially with a bit of yellow on solid red.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]