Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Travelling Spirit

by thedeadlybutter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Travel between the interconnected bright and dark worlds, a procedural adventure awaits you!

--

Built with Unity & Abundant Music.com
https://twitter.com/thedeadlybutter

--

Please note this game collects anonymous data on the following stats:
- Distance travelled
- Where you died
- Replays

After the compo I plan to write up a post mortem that includes this data! It will most likely be submitted on /r/gamedev if you're interested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#602Audio2.64
#870Fun2.68
#929Mood2.53
#986Graphics2.38
#1023Overall2.68
#1083Theme2.25
#1095Innovation2.28
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

koalamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:10am

ballin'

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:02am

gorgeous, but the controls are a lil unintuitive

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11am

Didn't get how to play at first, but once I figured it out I had a fun time! The transition between the worlds is devilish :) Next time maybe take a crack making some art to make it a bit prettier and more "you" (nice color scheme though!)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28am

@jsspiegal - I tried to do a transition with the particles, was considering having a countdown timer as well so you could prepare

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29am

@tbamberg - noticing thats a common theme here, noted, thanks for playing!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29am

@koalamo - haha thanks!

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59am

Solid game :) In the 'light' world, I absolutely love the 3 complementary colours, nice job!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05am

For someone who normally sucks at anything art related its great to have people saying that, thanks stimpact!

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19am

interesting idea. a little more detail on how the controls work would help. nice game.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49am

this really cool. Took me a bit to figure out how movement worked, and then how transitions worked, but after that I enjoyed it.
It would be nice if you could see the character; I kept hitting my head on blocks which I thought I would miss.
btw, @thedeadlybutter, are you from the VoxelBox ? your name looks familiar

ArthurMaker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21am

Pretty good Game

ArthurMaker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28am

Ohh and check out my game...

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11am

@Cheshyr - Yeah I'm definitely noticing I should have done that. Thanks!

@Miz - Yes I am, was there for a few years until shit hit the fan... A lot of the core community moved over to The Dream Sanctuary.

@Arthur - Thanks and sure I guess?

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29am

Ha-ha - great game! Procedural generation is awesome!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:49am

Hi. Procedural generation fun. I like the idea you collect the stats/metrics, it's always amazing to see what players actually do. It is not obvious how to move and I found I ran into things I barely even saw all the time, which was a bit frustrating.

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07am

The colours are nice in this game. I had trouble with controls though.

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Wow! Interesting game!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00pm

I love the tune, the game is cool but the controls are a bit sketchy.

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15pm

My major gripe with the game is that you can't see what you're doing, it's difficult to know where you are in 3D space. But aside from that the game is fun and the challenge is nice. The music was very good and the graphics were pleasantly simple

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Nice mood... nice idea. could have some more polished gfx... but it works nict... I have a problem with chrome and unity plugin... my mouse is not working there... Firefox was fin... maybe its a plugin problem...? Nice job

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:21am

had a little trouble at the start, but once I got the hang of it, it was a pretty challenging and fun game, nice job :)

esayitch says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:43am

I didn't rate this because I had a tough time figuring out the controls and how to swap worlds... I tried to glean that from the comments as well but couldn't... You definitely need to make the controls a bit clearer :P Will gladly rate it after I know what the controls are and get a chance to play it fairly.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:34pm

It's not abvious on how to move.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]