Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Opposing Worlds

by KayZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The worlds of demons and angels, the worlds of fire and ice, they all have been connected for the final battle.
==========
Selection in the menu works using the cursor keys and Enter. Everything is controlled with the keyboard.

Ran out of time in the end and wasn't able to add sounds or an ending :(.

Might do a post compo version with more types of units and a hotseat mode for up to 4 players :).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#663Humor2.17
#709Overall3.06
#805Fun2.76
#886Mood2.59
#909Theme2.67
#936Graphics2.49
#953Innovation2.58
#964Audio1.61

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:05am

Really nice game. I like turn-based system.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:51am

I like it...A bit slow in late game but good job

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:53am

... the start was slow... not sure if I was alone in this world or not. Was about to quit. But then the action started and things got interesting :D

Cool game. I've always wanted to build something like this myself.

DarkEngineer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:15am

Reminds memories.

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:24am

Very cool game to play. Simple, but I like it. Played as angels ;p.

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:30am

Aaaaahh I hate you, at the end it's toooo long to get the wanted character, and finally, killed everyone, take all towers and destroy all portals, no end >< 30min playing wasted ><

Ok, the game is nice, we should select characters with cursor.

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04pm

nice game

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Nice game! But controls making it's slow to progress :) Way/rally points would be nice addition :)

KayZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:22pm

I've opened some issues on my github repo for a post compo version. So thanks for the feedback so far :).

Jaenis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Nice to see a strategy game here! Managing that army was quite difficult at the end, maybe some multi-turn "go here" commands would have helped

Perjoka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:52am

nice game, i like it!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:53am

nice, a small complaint though, try to add mouse support

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:22am

Woooow, jeeeeesus, i spent sooo much time with this one, lol.
So simple but so addictive, haha, i like it.
But you should just reduce the mapsize, that way it is not dragging on so long.
Well done sir!

J-d-H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:59pm

You should have optimized the way units are selected. The jumping all over the word is really confusing.

Some bugs/glitches:
If you walk to the bottom right corner, the minimap overlaps terrain and units.
If you wark the top line, you do not see the selected unit marker.

runvs says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Hi there, the menu does not work for me, i cannot click any button. Using Chrome 36.0.1985.143.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:50pm

I think I broke the game - I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/KmqpyEAAVGM

blurryroots says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:27am

Oh my god, so many angles! Neat concept. I'm a big fan of turn based games. But in late game, it gets kind of tedious to cycle through all the units to find the one who is currently in battle or near an enemy. Nevertheless a fun game.

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Nivc game, for me there were a bit too many unit to control, but I liked it!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Wow, great game! I spent an hour playing it, very engaging. The only problems I found is with late game, increasingly difficult to manage all new units I was getting. It would also be great to have an end goal. Great work!!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Hi there. Like the fog of war. Combat seemed to be a bit random. Shame about the lack of sound. Good job!

frogcheese says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Simple and fun, but the map is probably too large. This type of strategy game would be more fun with compact, quick maps so that every move feels like it has significance.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]