Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Coral

by Vavassor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about finding a way

Heed my warning: to anyone who gets motion-sickness from games or who has other visual sensitivity, I STRONGLY discourage you from playing! The game is intentionally visually disorienting!

The Non-Smearing build is advised as an alternative if you have any problems with the buffer non-clearing effect.

MAC-OS and LINUX UPDATE: ugh, when running under opengl in certain configurations, the background flickers wildly. This appears to be caused by double-buffering settings that unity has left out of my control. I am very sorry.

// Known Issues
-strobing on some opengl-dependent builds
-mouse-relative movement hits edge of screen on mac-osx

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#184Mood3.47
#196Graphics3.74
#256Audio3.25
#479Innovation3.26
#556Fun3.05
#618Overall3.15
#1056Theme2.33
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

maloki says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:38am

Reminds me of data-moshing. :D it's a little disorienting but the game feels like those sidewinder games that I love! The end-level art is so pretty, too (well, each of them have their charm :D)

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:46am

I played this game all the way to the end, and I can say with confidence it was the second most "visually disorienting" game I've ever played. The bright colors are really bad if you spin your camera too fast.

ploogle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:09am

Oh wow, that's a really great use of a render setting no one would think to use normally. :P

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Awesome graphical style! Not quite sure it relates to the theme but it was fun either way

recursor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Oh man that was really weird. I got a headache after about 30 seconds lol. Honestly, I'd like an option to turn off the "visual disorientation" because it looks like it would be fun to play without it.

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Very cool use of a non-clearing camera. The marble blast style gameplay is always fun, too.

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Impressive mood and art style, one of the best visual so far. Keep up the good work. Beside, you realy should go check your color buffer, he start feeling sick

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Impressive. You must be the Radiohead fan.

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:26am

I love the way the music matches the graphics. It reminds me of data-moshing too. REALLY crazy concept! Getting totally disorienting is sort of a fun release. Fun and strange.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I did not find what I was supossed to do though but very nice colors.

Mase says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:12pm

I reached "the end"

The visual effect is interesting but I wish it didn't strobe so much... it's uncomfortable to look at. The smearing is cool though. It was interesting to battle against this weird style in the half-pipe level.

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:46pm

OH NO, there isn't supposed to be any strobing, it is probably showing two different things on front and back buffers and then switching between then rapidly, ughhh. I'm really sorry, that isn't supposed to happen.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Hi there. Well... technically interesting, but was giving me a headache, sounds pretty harsh also. Something slightly softer and more real might have been more fun, for this punter at least.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]