Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Voxel Ville

by Jordan Kniest - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Voxelville you can build a house with a few Blocks in Minecraft-Style. Then you can upload it in game and other players can watch it.

Controls in Build Mode:
WASD - Movement
E - Inventory
Left Mouse - Break
Right Mouse - Set Block
Scrollwheel - Switch active Block
1 - 9 - Set active Slot

== UPDATE 1 ==
Bug Fixing:
- Sounds
- Falling Glitch

Little side info: I had actually planned that you can rate homes. Unfortunately I had not enough time. Maybe it comes later.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#505Humor2.40
#708Theme3.04
#829Mood2.67
#839Overall2.93
#889Graphics2.56
#950Fun2.58
#983Innovation2.52

Comments

kblaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:46am

Just a note: Chrome gives me a "could be dangerous" warning when downloading.

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:48am

Very neat minecraft-esque game. Kept finding myself falling off the world though and getting stuck in an infinite fall loop.

Jordan Kniest says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49am

Its just a zip file.. i dont know, why chrome says it. @disdanes: thanks for the report. I will fix that

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50am

nice! couple glitches but otherwise great, and I really like your interpretation of the theme

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51am

Very cool felt like I was playing minecraft classic. The shadows looked nice however I felt the day/night cycle moved a bit too quick.

C_Walden says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53am

So I guess it's pre-alpha Minecraft from way back in the day, minus the terrain. Not very creative, but impressive that you did this in 48 hours.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:54am

I made a house. The name I put in there was House. I think that the idea is pretty cool. I liked being able to build a house and then put it into a world where anyone else who played the game could see it. I thought the mouse controls were a bit too sensitive.

mcapraro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:54am

i tested this and it works on OSX. well done

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:54am

I made a house but it sucked so I did not upload it :) This works very well. The control is snappy.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56am

Impressive that you were able to make a server back-end with such limited time!

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57am

The controls could be given in-game. Nice implementation.
Side note: I fell off and then fell for long enough that I hit the kill plane and respawned before I could get back onto the game area, soft-locking the game.

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16am

It says it because it isn't downloaded often, I'd ignore it.

I like how you got it to connect people's houses into a city, very nice.

Jordan Kniest says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18am

Thanks at all.. and thanks for the dig in the city xD

Jordan Kniest says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19am

* dick

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35am

Nice job, easy to see other creations.

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03am

Cool game, lots of stuff built already

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:46am

11/10 needs more blocks -IGN

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:49am

Nice idea, not very innovative though.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:17pm

The cool aspect of this game is the upload feature. The building itself works, but is like a very simple minecraft clone. I still enjoyed building a house, though. Well done, lads!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]