Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Shaker X

by voxel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bring shakey destruction to the universe and your screen in this overly ambitious unfinished mess of a game.

Inspired by chaos engine, nuclear throne, earthquakes.

25/08/14 : Uploaded Windows and Linux64 versions, fixed sounds getting progressively louder each level

27/08/14 : Uploaded different linux version. Works for Plash, so if you have a problem blame him.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#109Audio3.59
#170Graphics3.81
#195Humor3.04
#204Fun3.51
#308Overall3.46
#411Mood3.16
#1074Innovation2.33
#1090Theme2.22

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09am

Screenshots look nice, but targeting OSX only really restricts your audience. :/

voxel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:34am

Hold on to your hat, other OS versions incoming

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:24am

Windows version works OK.
Fantastic graphics, sound and music! This is art that could go in a paid game.
Mechanics are a little simple but smooth, really polished and nice.
Don't see how it relates to the theme.

KevRevDev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:40am

Really really great. Fantastic art and sound. Simple but fun gameplay. And lots of levels! I think the only problem I had was that enemies would get stuck on me when they got too close.

JBM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:43am

Loved the music and the style and gameplay was pretty catchy too:)

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:45am

linux version works ok :)

MalphasWats says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:53am

I played the Windows version. Once I worked out that mouse is shoot (I'm slow, I'm sorry!) it was good.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:57am

A very good game, fun, polished, atmosphere.

The theme isn't too apparent though.

miwuc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:14am

Very fun game! And ambitious indeed, with 3 characters and 4 planets. Simple but I enjoyed playing it a lot. Funny ending.

x1212 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:43am

nice game, I like how the AI switches from getting as close as possible to running away

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Foba Butt for space president! This is a fun little thing. At first I thought the screen shake was a touch too vigorous, but it discourages bullet spamming, so it's totally OK.

Great work on the animations. Text and AI could use some work. Enemies get stuck on walls too much, but it's passable considering this is LD :D

Nitpicks:

- The only music that annoyed me was on Rocky Moon. Repetitive no-no!
- No playable space kitten.

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Also, forgot to mention, the new Linux release has one non-halting error:

Sound.hx:96: Error: Could not load "assets/sfx/rock0.ogg"

eastes says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:20am

Are you from Brisbane? Me too. Congrats on a really fun game. Good balance of AI. Shooting them was gratifying.

voxel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:37pm

hey plash, all versions have that error :) not sure why but rock0.ogg fails to load the first time, so i load it twice :p

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:38am

The AI could use some improvement, but for Ludum Dare it wasn't that bad. Interesting game that could definitely be expanded upon.

christopf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:34pm

its good to play but you hit the theme not on bullseye. would love to see more story implemented in this

Jedi says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Haha, best ending ever! I'm giving you 5* for humor which feels unfair to people who put more jokes into their games but that ending had me laughing out loud.

It could have used more polish. The buttons on the menus could have been animated on mouseover, there could have been sound effects. Also, sometimes enemies were able to shoot me through walls. I assume that wasn't intentional.

The screenshake and graphics were great, as was the music. I liked the idea of choosing different characters too.

Really good job, overall!

ghenoroc says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Transitions to planets seem to take too long, but otherwise it's a very good game.

udo says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:16pm

This is a solid compo entry. In the beginning I couldn't tell whether I had died or moved on to the next level ;) Good job overall!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Very nice game! The gameplay is very nervous and the polishing is nearly perfect.

kristof says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Nice game! It needs a lot of polish though. I like the idea of having different AIs on the different worlds. But they were too predictable. It happened to me a few times, that an enemy managed to sit right on top of my character. It was able to hurt me, but I couldn't get rid of it anymore... Collision between all entities should solve this.
I really like the graphics and audio!

kyru says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Good looking game, plays really well. Might need more than just killing guys, but it's a great start to something really fun.

arhpositive says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Nice entry. Kinda repetitive after a while but the solid graphics and audio make up for it.

iona says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Not too innovative, but I like the art and music (especially considering the timeframe!) Good job!

aeveis says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:20am

liked the different characters, could be interesting to see different kind of ranged attacks to vary up the gameplay. good job!

ZYXer says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:56pm

I love the character selection. Very funny! :D

Managore says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:50am

It looks and feels great, and it's a whole bucket of fun!

Sheepolution says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:50pm

I liked the graphics and audio. The game was pretty hard. I managed to finish at least 1 planet, before instantly at the second one. Good game, good job!

pansapiens says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:15am

Really nicely juiced (particles, screen shake), all adds up to a great feel. I guess I would have liked some progress indicator for each planet - never quite sure how far I was to completion.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]