Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

First Encounter

by Ysty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First Encounter is a short science fiction story told using Unity Web Player and Twine. Which world is real, and which is a dream? Are they connected or is one just a product of your imagination?

The game is pretty short and there are four endings. I highly suggest trying to find them all.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#50Innovation4.03
#217Mood3.42
#300Humor2.79
#527Theme3.30
#638Overall3.13
#645Graphics2.97
#724Fun2.86
#868Audio2.00

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:11am

Interesting concept technically!
Nice use of HTML, with small Unity web fragments as elements within the pages.
Unfortunately it's a bit cumbersome as loading and unloading Unity every time you do something is slow.
Story isn't half bad either.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:01am

Woah.
Rating this high on innovation.
Good going on combining game and narrative.

Interesting..

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:21am

cool game

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:24am

Yay! I do like a good old multiple choice adventure game :D And really well done on including a linux version! +1

SirJson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:39am

I like the idea

cmayhem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:53am

Very interesting idea, nice work!

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:55am

That's smart!

OmegaVesko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Interesting.

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:21pm

What a very interesting idea, I like it :) I replayed it multiple times until I got a happy ending.

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Cool use of Unity!
Seems more like an excersize in consequence rather than choice but I think a lot of these twine games are like that.
I mean, how come <<spoilers for anyone reading the comments first>> choosing wether or not to talk to a woman at a musiem decides if I'm a robot or not?
Still, I liked the Unity stuff a lot, and I like how the four paths through the game are clear, so you know when you've seen it all.

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:11pm

An interesting approach to making a game that was about thinking rather than fighting. I like it :)

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Very interesting. I like the use of Unity to add you're interactive sections. Also really enjoyed the pixel art sections.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:01am

I'm sorry but honestly it's just a bad version of a game
I've seen before.
In LD #27 some guy made a game called "1 AM"
The graphics here are better though, so I gave it a high
rank on graphics but the plot just wasn't satisfying to me.
Here's a link to the game I've talked about
it's holy crap good:
http://www.philome.la/Boundsoy/1-am/play#

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:07am

Wow, that's not something I've seen before! My only complaint is that it would have been nice to have some css effects, not just the Twine defaults, especially considering you're also using graphics.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:03am

This is a nightmare to run/use, but it's a good idea and pretty well executed (esp given the constant browser issues)

Dans17 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:07am

I love how you combined Unity and Twine into one game.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Hi there. Interesting mashup of Unity and Twine, like it! Shame no sound. Got to ending 1/4, apologies not looking for others just yet but bookmarked. Good job!

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:52am

Interesting concept, though the execution needs work, I think.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]