Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

CosmicCom: Connecting Worlds

by deathray - Jam Entry

==--Story--==

You've just been hired as the CEO of CosmicCom, a new interstellar corporation dedicated to providing all galactic citizens excellent, high-speed FTL communications at a fair price. You will begin with a single communications satellite and control of the CosmicCom Mothership. Aboard the ship you can work to build new satellites, expand your customer base on the planet below, and strengthen your engineering and marketing departments.

Once you have enough resources, you will be able to expand out to new planets, and connect the many worlds of the galaxy with your vast communications network.

==--How to Play--==

Click!
Click on the buttons:
- "Planet Customers" = acquire more customers
- "Satellites" = Build a new satellite; costs money but increases Customers per click
- "Mothership" = Fuel up and travel to new planets
- "Engineers" = upgrade to increase your build per click amount
- "Marketing" = upgrade to increase your Customers per click

==--About--==

Made in HTML5 / JavaScript / CSS3. Uses jQuery and Google Fonts; everything else is homemade. This would've been a 48hr compo game, but I was busy over the weekend and needed Monday to finish.

Inspired by Cookie Clicker and Conspiracy Clicker.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#366Overall(Jam)3.25
#425Fun(Jam)2.96
#460Theme(Jam)3.00
#487Humor(Jam)2.13
#569Mood(Jam)2.74
#621Graphics(Jam)2.77
#700Innovation(Jam)2.26
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:19am

Very fun and addictive game, very much alike to a cookie clicker game because of the exponential growth idea.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:27am

I'm pretty new to these cookie clicker esque games, but it was still a nice fun game!

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32am

Aaaah, my poor fingahs. I played that for a lot longer than I meant!

Well done balance and execution, although I felt like a rat on a wheel after a while. Still, I enjoyed myself.

Tritax says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:44am

I dunno what it is about these kinds of games, but I always enjoy seeing what mechanics someone has decided to include in a given game. Having a fun time with this one. :)

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:46am

Played it for a long time, not sure why, but I had fun. I wish I didn't have to click so much, now I need to buy a new mouse. :P

gnx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:17am

Click things and numbers get bigger :D I would've liked to see some visual representation of for example the satellites and other spoils you ruin your wrist for in this game.

deathray says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:26am

With all the testing I did - getting to 100% on a small planet - my hand kind of hurts. :) But glad you're all enjoying the game!

Talvara says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:41am

Its like cookie clicker I guess, its pretty nice and the different buttons have nice thought out synergies.

What I was missing was some sense of reward for getting a new satellite or connecting a new planet or reaching a certain amount of income per second etc etc. Achievements and seeing new visuals is a large part of cookie clicker, that and seeing what the innocent business devolves into. oh and grandma's. where are your grandma's son?

MrCakehat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:42am

It was pretty fun, I found myself playing for a bit! (Fingers hurt though)

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:53pm

I enjoyed it even though there is not much of a challenge :)
I got tired of clicking after a point tbh.
- Satellite building percentage goes over 100%

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Sure, idle games aren't really fun and full of creativity, but I like idle games and this one is cool!

brookman says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Reminded me of the cataclysmic cookie clicker game. Almost caused me to relapse. :)
Keep up the good work!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:33pm

interesting concept

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:28pm

OK... Don't know this genre, but, while the interface is clean and crisp and makes sense, it seem crazy to just sit here clicking various virtual buttons to enable me to click other virtual buttons. Now that may be isomorphic with a subtle and engrossing RPG, but it isn't as much fun. Not your fault, I reckon this is a good example of the genre... Shame no sound!

hbocao says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:17am

Nice game, very addictive! Well done!

Saphyre says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:19pm

This gameplay is evil...

tiff says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Very fun and great overall idea!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]