Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Steamed Worlds

by chocobyte - Jam Entry

An adventure above the skies!

This is our entry for the Ludum Dare 30, 72hrs JAM compo.

Player Controls:
Use W, S, A and D keys to move, SHIFT to run, F to use the airboat

Airboat Controls:
Use W, S, A and D keys to move, E to lift, Q to sink, SHIFT to accelerate


The game is developed using Rayne, an upcoming game engine currently in closed alpha.
The source for this game and all assets are on GitHub: https://github.com/Slin/SteamedWorlds


Have fun! :-)

A game by slindev, kruemel, bullet & chocobyte
(Goody Cow)


slin@rayne3d.com
www.rayne3d.com
www.chocobyte.com


Known problems on Windows:

- Missing msvcp120.dll or similar: Please install the provided vcredist_x86.exe
- NoGPUException: Intel graphics is currently not supported. In other cases, try updating your graphics drivers.

- No or broken shadows
- Poor performance
- Crash on exit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#320Graphics(Jam)3.53
#352Humor(Jam)2.48
#423Innovation(Jam)2.97
#496Mood(Jam)2.88
#509Theme(Jam)2.87
#559Audio(Jam)2.41
#642Fun(Jam)2.52
#668Overall(Jam)2.75

Comments

eott says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Unfortunately almost unplayabale for me. The game had consistently 4fps or less and I'm certain it's not due to lacking hardware. However the visuals are very sharp and clear, I like that.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Impressive that you're using your own engine! This game was ambitious, but I had a few problems. I fell off the edge and fell forever, and also my mouse cursor never disappeared from the screen. However, this game is great and you've done well.
~funkeh

draxov says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:44pm

I couldn't really play it with much enjoyment, the game was struggling on my high end pc and the mouse was way too sensitive, I couldn't really work out what to do either. Good graphics though, would like to play it when performance issues are sorted.

Kojan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:14pm

As some comments already stated, it's difficult to enjoy the game when it runs on 6-7 fps and when every time you try, you fall in the void and have to restart the game.
However I really like the environnement ! Overall it is nice, keep it up !

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Voice over was nice but I would like to have some subtitles aswell. Graphics were nice too. I didn't have any performance issues but I experienced heavy tearing.
After some walking and running the sounds for the steps stopped working. I went to the desert but I didn't know how to pick up the asteroid debris.

Slin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:08pm

I am the guy who did most of the programming on this game:
Those performance issues should be due to the vram being full, because we did not scale down our textures to sane dimensions.
There are also shadows in the game but due to some last minute camera changes they went missing and we did not notice, now there also turned out to be a bug with the shadows on AMD drivers.
The biggest known issue however is the physics, it should mostly work on the start island, but you should try not to move anywhere else, because sooner or later you will fall through the ground. This is some problem with using bullet physics in a wrong way to generate the colliders or something.
In theory there is also an OSX version and oculus rift support, with the rift support only working on OSX so far, but it still has some issues.

So what I am trying to say is, I am working on a post compo version fixing all those issues, but due to my lack of time I have no idea if it will already be this week or if it will take longer than that...

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Looked very promising, hope you get a chance to finish up a post-jam build with performance improvements!

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Had no performance issues here. The graphics are good, but I felt through the floor near some houses at the desert. Looking forward for the post compo version!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Didn't really figure out what I need to do - heard something about some volcano but didn't find anything here. Looking very good though!

radmars says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Too slow to be playable for me too unfortunately. i7 950 & GTX 470 (1280MB VRAM) for reference.

juaxix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Like other users are experiencing, the game is too slow...
I liked the source and zeppelin stuff :)

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:33am

I won't rate, because the perforamce issues were too much to fairly judge the game. It definitely looks like you've put a lot of good work into it though! ^.^

Jedi says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:44pm

It took me a while to find the airship but when I did, it was fun to control! But then I fell through the desert floor :(. This game is way too big to have a bug like that! I didn't want to play it again, knowing that I'd have to walk and that I might still fall through, but I did play once more, making sure to only walk in the desert, and I fell through anyway :(

The graphics were pretty. I thought it was weird that my character reacted to a diamond getting destroyed but apparently not to his comrade dying in an airship crash.

Your game needs a loading screen, it sits on a black screen for a long time. It also needs to capture the mouse. The mouse also needs smoothing and to be less sensitive.

Very cool that you used a custom engine, but I'm not sure that engine was 100% ready for prime-time. Hope you keep tweaking it post-compo and have it ready for Ludum Dare 31!

hate-marina says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:46am

Fell through the ground in the abadoned village too :C

Anti says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Impressive game but I had some performance issues which made it very hard to play!

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Nice entry.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Chrome blocks the download. =\

Rehacked says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:36pm

good job on this! nice game

Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Graphics are crisp, but mouse is too sensitive and frame rate is bad...
Some subtitles for the voice over would be nice.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]