Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries


by dark_hunter - Jam Entry

The world as we knew it is no more. Humans are forced to live underground, while only plants can grow on the surface. Now two different worlds have been connected by mankind's desire to survive. Can you help humanity with this difficult task?

Goal of the game - reach 100 population within 60 turns!

Requires XNA 4.0 and a mouse!

Created by dark_hunter, Ylith and Stridtul

Downloads and Links




ZirconCode says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:51am

Loved the gameplay, went on to play a second game just to see how well I could do. Well balanced and challenging at the right pace. Very low learning curve (very transparent) and much fun. Nice background music and polished graphics.

Enjoyed it!

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:15am

Okay, I almost managed to get that 100 people :) By the way put a goblet with the number 100 near the people counter, so the player will remember what is their goal ;)
Anyway, I loved the music, and I will try to reach the 100 again. :)

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:19am

Very enjoyable light strategy! Out of all games now, I probably spent longest with this one so far.

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Ha this had me hooked for some time. Cool idea!

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:25am

The first seconds it is hard to understand what to do, but you managed to set the descriptions right. Nice game. The graphics and the music fit well together and the idea is very creative.

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:18am

Really well done! Loved to play this game until the end!

4xisblack says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:22am

Well balanced! I also like the way it looks.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:00am

Pretty interesting. Doesn't seem very thematic, but pretty fun.

cstudios says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:37am

Very simple but also deep game enough to enjoy on first play. At first play, i was wondering why the excavating does not work, then i realised that i need to assign workforce. Also i like the idea of huge plants, however I dont understand it such huge plants can survive on the surface, why not humans? It has something to do with the CO2 level?

dark_hunter says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:47am

Yeah, the surface has become improper to sustain human life, but still good enough for plants to grow even bigger (even if that makes no sense). So humans must live underground, releasing on the surface most CO2 they produce, so the plants can convert it to O2, and then be sucked back into the undergound city.

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Nice entry, well done.

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Though I'm not too sure how this is supposed to be connected worlds I really liked it! It's like an rts without the single unit management, very enjoyable, the music fit, the gameplay is great the only thing I can say is maybe a few animations would make it look better other than that great job!

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Extremely well-made ludum strategy, nice and polished gameplay, great interface and enough variety in graphics to keep things interesting. The only thing I didn't get is the endgame. Is there some sort of goal that needs to be reached? I made it through 60 turns, filled all the tiles and it just gave me "game over" screen. Did I win or did I lose?

dark_hunter says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:24pm

In the tutorial says that your goal is to reach 100 population before you reach 60 turns. So apparently you've lost.

swich says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:28am

Best gameplay so far, loved it! Really well balanced system considering how fast it was made.
Music gets repetitive after a few turns, though.

kyru says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Nice game, wasn't too difficult but it was fun to work out the system and complete the game.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 10:25am

Nice game.Goodjob

StMatn says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 11:10am

Very cool game!
At first I was a bit skeptical about a roundbased citybuilder, but I tried it anyway and was positively amazed. On my second try I managed to win, but the game is quite challenging and - in my opinion - very well balanced.
Great work!

jomomomo says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Any chance for a web version?

runvs says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Nice game. The music suits the game really well!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]